For John Wetton… From A Child Of The ’80s

It’s been a while… I miss you! I realized my Best Of 2016 never posted, so in honor of the Grammy’s I’ll post that soon.
Heck, sometimes you have to go backwards to move forward… and no, that is NOT a political reference… Or is it???

So 2016 sucked… on many levels… but especially at the sheer number of artists, musicians and musical icons we lost… Devastating, really.

2016-sucked-5525831

And 2017 is not starting off any better… Yes, you can read that any way you like…
But on this occasion, I am talking about today’s loss of John Wetton.

unknown-4

I am a true child of the ’80s, having grown up on ’80s rock… MTV and the birth of the Super Band…
Asia was one of my favorites. The band got me through some tough times… and when I need a pick me up, I still turn to them…

And even their album art kicked ass!

1990’s rocking “Days Like These” continues to inspire me to find joy… to celebrate the great days and use that energy for good.

asia_-_then__now_1990_front_cover

One of my college roommates and I… Barry Flanik… would blast Asia from our frat room. We loved those guys… Were those CDs or cassettes, Myron???

Asia in 1982 hit # 1 and still gets a regular rotation for me… “Heat Of The Moment” and “Here Comes The Feeling” were frat boy Rock N’ Roll anthems… Right, Barry?

unknown-5

Alpha in 1983 hit #6 and “Don’t Cry,” “The Smile Has Left Your Eyes” and “The Last To Know” were part of the background soundtrack to a few breakups…

I had the pleasure of seeing their unbelievable arena shows at least twice… Elevating drum stand… a gong set on fire… pyrotechnics… and yet the music was ALWAYS THE STAR… and more recently saw them in small venues like my local haunt, The Canyon Club!!!  And yes, they still rocked.. truly… and sounded so frickin’ good.

I’ll let Wikipedia give you his history and stats… but suffice it to say that I will miss this man… and this band… and I am yet again, seeing my musical youth pummeled, bruised and battered… Enough!!!  Seriously… and 67… way, way, way too young to go.

“John Kenneth Wetton (12 June 1949 – 31 January 2017) was an English singer, bassist, and songwriter. He was born in Willington, Derbyshire, and grew up in Bournemouth. He rose to fame with bands Mogul Thrash, Family, King Crimson, Roxy Music/Bryan Ferry, Uriah Heep, and Wishbone Ash.

After his period with King Crimson, Wetton formed UK, and later he was the frontman and principal songwriter of the supergroup Asia, which proved to be his biggest commercial success. Their self-titled debut album sold eight million copies worldwide and was Billboard magazine’s No. 1 album of 1982. He later formed the duo Icon with Geoff Downes (ex-Yes, ex-Buggles), and since the 1990s had a successful solo career releasing a large number of studio and live albums.

Wetton had a long career as an in-demand session bass player, and collaborated with many members of progressive rock bands such as Yes (including Steve Howe, Bill Bruford, Geoff Downes, Alan White, Billy Sherwood and Peter Banks), Roxy Music and Bryan Ferry, and Genesis (Steve Hackett).”

 

RIP John Wetton, and thank you for the music. Sigh…

images bjpg-php unknown-6

1 Comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, The News Blues

One response to “For John Wetton… From A Child Of The ’80s

  1. Charlene jundt

    Definitely cassettes.

Leave a Reply

