Random Acts Of Music – From Crowded House to “Ebony And Ivory” (What The… ???)

Today is part of a new series that will serve as a weekly post… Hopefully… Although based on its very nature, the days it pops up will be completely random.

Welcome to… (Drum Roll)… (Fanfare…)

RANDOM ACTS OF MUSIC

For my regular readers, you may recall… Actually… Strike that… you BETTER recall the piece I did on my mind as a musical jukebox.  (See March 26, 2014 Post).

I am fascinated by the idea of how, when and why certain songs just POP into our brains.  I have this happen quite a lot as I am walking the dog.  I thought at first that perhaps I was hearing a song from a passing car, or somewhere in the distance and then just made it my own… but my neighborhood is fairly quiet, for the most part.  I know when I walk I am either chatting with someone or, more productively, and better for me… meditating… quieting my brain and focusing on the beauty that is around me…

But the mind is a loud and dangerous place… My thoughts race… and when they do, they are usually accompanied by a soundtrack.  Songs pop into my head, quite unexpectedly.  And while some have an obvious message… and lyrics that are perhaps being sent to remind me of some lesson I need to hear, and educate me and put me on a proper path, sometimes they are just there… for no apparent reason.

So this morning, somewhere in the middle of my dog walking journey… Crowded House popped into my mind… Specifically “Something So Strong.”  This makes sense, as my friend Janet, a huge Neil Finn fan, was blasting them all the way home from last week’s event at 100.3 The Sound.

Their album has always been one of my favorites, and I loved hearing Janet talk about the stories behind each tune… And now it is a family affair, as I am quite into Neil’s solo stuff, as well as that of his son, Liam Finn.

The lyrics are clearly timely and topical for me.  Hear are some snippets:

“Love can make you weep
Can make you run for cover.
Roots that spread so deep
Bring life to frozen ground.

Something so strong could carry us away
Something so strong could carry us today.

Turning in my sleep
Love can leave you cold
The taste of jealousy is like a lust for gold.
Something so strong could carry us away

I’ve been feeling so much older
Frame me and hang me on the wall.
I’ve seen you fall into the same trap
This thing is happening to us all”

Then my brain moved to “Don’t Dream It’s Over”… Okay, this is logical… going through the record, even if I am skipping a few songs and actually moving backwards up the tracks…

“There is freedom within, there is freedom without
Try to catch the deluge in a paper cup
There’s a battle ahead, many battles are lost
But you’ll never see the end of the road
While you’re traveling with me

Hey now, hey now, don’t dream it’s over
Hey now, hey now, when the world comes in
They come, they come to build a wall between us
We know they won’t win.”

Damn!  More brilliant lyrics… stunning lyrics… and very timely… Okay, so my brain is much smarter than I am, if that makes sense.  At least my subconscious knows what I need, and what I need to hear.

So these two songs make perfect sense.  I know the catalyst, and revisiting the lyrics solidifies things… But then…

Then… really out of nowhere… I start singing “Ebony And Ivory.”  WHAT???  Where did that come from?  What is the meaning for me?

It’s a great message… one I am always pushing.  People need to live together in harmony… Sharing music would make us all get along so much better.

“We All Know That People Are The Same Where Ever We Go
There Is Good And Bad In Everyone,
We Learn To Live, We Learn To Give
Each Other What We Need To Survive, Together Alive.”

Okay… no idea why it popped into my brain as I was rounding the half way mark of the dog walk… but there it was… playing in my mind… and then coming out of my mouth… singing… out loud…

Luckily no one was around to question my sanity… but I enjoyed the musical stroll nonetheless.

I would love for you to keep track of your random songs… and then we can analyze them, together… like dreams…

We’ll call it Rock and Freud!

The mind is a powerful thing… the subconscious is fascinating… and if we calm our brain… quiet ourselves and get to a true neutral… a true peace… I honestly think we can lead ourselves out of trouble and onto the path to joy and bliss.  Come with me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Love can make you weep
Can make you run for cover
Roots that spread so deep
Bring life to frozen groundSomething so strong could carry us away
Something so strong could carry us todayTurning in my sleep
Love can leave you cold
The taste of jealousy
Is like a lust for gold

Something so strong could carry us away
Something so strong could carry us today

I’ve been feeling so much older
Frame me and hang me on the wall
I’ve seen you fall into the same trap
This thing is happening to us all, yeah

Something so strong could carry us away
Something so strong could carry us today, yeah

Something so strong
Something so strong
Something so strong
Something so, so strong
Read more at http://www.songlyrics.com/crowded-house/something-so-strong-lyrics/#iEIc5LFGWXAL8k97.99

Love can make you weep
Can make you run for cover
Roots that spread so deep
Bring life to frozen groundSomething so strong could carry us away
Something so strong could carry us todayTurning in my sleep
Love can leave you cold
The taste of jealousy
Is like a lust for gold

Something so strong could carry us away
Something so strong could carry us today

I’ve been feeling so much older
Frame me and hang me on the wall
I’ve seen you fall into the same trap
This thing is happening to us all, yeah

Something so strong could carry us away
Something so strong could carry us today, yeah

Something so strong
Something so strong
Something so strong
Something so, so strong
Read more at http://www.songlyrics.com/crowded-house/something-so-strong-lyrics/#iEIc5LFGWXAL8k97.99

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, Ramblings and Musings - The Really Random Stuff

Leave a Reply

