Def Leppard Kicks The Monday Blues – So Pour Some Sugar On Me And Crank Me Up

When I was a kid my mother would not buy us Frosted Flakes.  It was one of those rarefied treats we had to have at friend’s house or maybe when were on vacation… Of course, I am now the enforcer of a similar policy in my own house.  Doh.  I guess we DO become our parents.  And in my case that is not a bad thing… MOSTLY!

What my mother did NOT know, is that I would pour myself a big ‘ol bowl of Corn Flakes… and then douse them in sugar when she wasn’t looking.  The poor man’s version.  Boom!  My favorite part of Frosted Flakes was when they just started become mushy and the milk tasted like sugary goodness… so this was the next best thing, and while probably not as good as the name brand Kellogg’s Frosted FlakesKellogg’s Corn Flakes WITH sugar was a good, close second.

Unknown-1Unknown

Product Placement!  Product Placement!

And yes, as a matter of fact… I WAS a big fan of Tony The Tiger!!!  And now you can also call me a product placement whore… well… actually not since Kellogg’s is not paying me… YET!

Does anyone else remember stalling and sitting at the table “reading” the box of cereal???  I used to do that all the time to delay doing chores… or going to school… or just getting up… Oy!  Maybe sugar cereal WAS bad for us!

So… What does this have to do with anything?  Or more specifically, what does this have to do with today’s musical selection???  As I listened to this song today, it just reminded me of that.  Does the tune have anything to do with the cereal of my youth?  Um… I am gonna say NO.  In fact… I would say this song is about… SEX.  WHAT???!!!  Are you kidding me?

But perhaps now Jerry Seinfeld and I have more to talk about!  The cereal I mean.  Sheesh!

Def Leppard – “Pour Some Sugar On Me”

Another MTV staple… This came out in 1987 and was featured on the Hysteria record.  Great album!

“Pour some sugar on me
Ooh, in the name of love
Pour some sugar on me
C’mon, fire me up
Pour your sugar on me
Oh, I can’t get enough

I’m hot, sticky sweet
From my head to my feet, yeah”

Um… yeah… I get it now.

I saw Def Leppard open for Van Halen back in the day.  They were great.  Why they suddenly popped into my head, who knows.  The classic rock I grew up with just does that from time to time… all random like.  We have already discussed how my brain is a musical jukebox, so go with it.

And while I am now hitting the 2-CD Rock Of Ages album hard… this song… and music… is the perfect way to kick-start the week and make you feel like everything is gonna be all right.

Go ahead and listen to this without singing at the top of your lungs… or cranking it up to 11.  I dare you to try!
I dare you to not jam some killer air guitar and pretend you are in a music video… THIS music video.  It cannot be done… so just give into it… go with it… let it go!

We all need some sugar… we all need some love.  So pour it freely, folks.  Never hold back the sugar… never hold back the love and affection.  Hell, never hold back.  Go for it all and live life to the fullest.

With that said, I have to give major props to Rick Allen.  In what is now both tragic and triumphant Rock legend, Rick was in a car accident on New Year’s eve 1984.  His left arm had to be surgically removed… yet within 5 weeks he was back with the band.

Of course, he assumed he would never drum again, and had a long rehabilitation ahead… which left him depressed… but according to Wikipedia:
“Joe Elliott, visited Allen in an attempt to cheer him up. The band was on a break, so soon after, Allen met with some engineers and started to design a drum set to assist Allen’s drumming. He could still play some drum rhythms with one hand and used his left foot (typically for hi-hat pedals in common drum kits), to play the snare drum. Former Status Quo drummer Jeff Rich helped and encouraged Allen during his convalescence, and they designed an electronic kit Allen could play using only one arm. (TheLudwig acoustic drum kit he used on earlier albums High ‘n’ Dry and Pyromania was later given away by Def Leppard’s one-time management.) Electronic drum manufacturer Simmons created a kit to their specifications, and Allen made his post-accident debut in 1986 with a well-received set at the “Monsters of Rock” festival at Castle Donington.”

What is even more remarkable… is that the band hit its true heights after all of this…

Rock is dead, they say?

Long live Rock!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, The News Blues

Leave a Reply

