Will This Be The Last Time? – The High Flying, High Energy Rolling Stones Rock n’ Roll Circus Hits Staples Center

Perhaps it is a sign of age that I wake up after a concert, more often than not, with a ringing in my ear, and weary muscles from standing and dancing all night.

And then I think… Mick Jagger will be 70 years old in July.  That bitch!  I mean who out of all of us dudes would NOT want to be Mick Jagger.

Then again, I am guessing if I only had 100 pounds to shift around I MIGHT be able to move like that, too…

I said MIGHT!!!

Mick is utterly amazing and so were the boys on Monday, May 20… and let’s just say that the energy of the room was high… very high.  No… not that… Well, yes that… the air was filled with THAT… but I meant there was a literal and palpable enthusiasm and energy that LA crowds do not normally give off… and it fed the band, who had come out with an incredible energy on their own.

Wow… I actually exclaimed in a text, “Holy Shit!”

Mick danced and strutted and ran across every inch of the “Tongue” stage, and I can only imagine the training he must go through.  Man, I am so out of shape!  I literally had the thought of starting a fitness class based on the moves of Mick Jagger… It just popped into my head during one of his fist pumping, stage runs… Maybe I’ll do that.  Rock n’ Roll Fitness.  My idea… Copywritten here… Do NOT Steal it…

So… I went down to Staples solo.  If you know me, you know I HATE going to concerts alone… but even worse… I HATE going down to a venue with no ticket… though I do have very good concert karma and the recurring ability to find the really nice people who do not need to gouge every drop of blood from my concert budget.  I thank the Rock n’ Roll stars for that…

I wandered around for a bit, asking anyone for an extra ticket.  Most shook their heads or looked at me like I was insane or some kind of leper… Many probably thought I was actually selling, including one beautiful Russian woman who asked where my seats were…

While I felt positive and knew I would get something, it was most definitely frustrating for a long while… and as outgoing as I am, I do not like this process at all.  It just seemed rather… awkward…

Finally, after visiting the 100.3 The Sound Booth and the always delightful Amanda and Tanner… and the crazy drunk who kept asking me if I was a cop.  I took that as a compliment, by the way… I wandered into Chris, his sound engineer and guitar teaching buddy, Dan… and Chris’ daughter and her friend.  Chris told me what seats he had, and I said that there was probably no way he would take what I had to spend, but I was delightfully shocked when he said sure!!!  Karma, baby!  We wound up chatting for a long while, so I knew they were legit… and boom… Section 110, Row 14, lucky seat 11 was mine!

Into the Staples Center I went…

The Rolling Stones ended their California run last night, and the show was a really good one.  Was it the best Stones show I have seen?  Probably not, but it was a concert that will stand the test of time and most definitely add to the aura that these guys are still, as the gentleman next to me said, “the world champs.”

The setlist (see below) has stayed basically the same, with a few switches each night… and this is where a slight element of disappointment creeps in… and I mean slight.

Two nights before they did “Wild Horses”, one of my favorite Stones songs… and then “Bitch” with Dave Grohl, followed by “Shattered”.  Great songs… and Dave “Fucking” Grohl.  You know I love that guy!

The May 8 show in San Jose gave the audience both John Fogerty on “It’s All Over Now” AND “Let It Bleed” with Bonnie Raitt.  Wow!  Double wow!

So expectations were high (Yeah, there is that word again) for an amazing special guest or two, especially given that we were in LA and it was perhaps their LAST California date.

The pre-show rumors mentioned Dave Grohl, again… and also Neil Young… I would have killed to see Neil Young with the Stones… Okay not literally, but dang…

When Mick said tonight’s special guest was us and that he needed us to sing, I thought, okay, that’s cool… but when the show ended and nary a real special guest graced the stage… not that I’m not special, but come on… my friend Denise (who was sitting across the way) and I were both like… WTF?  We literally texted “WTF???!!!”

So WTF???!!!  What happened?  Inquiring minds REALLY want to know.  Was Neil there?  Why didn’t he play?  Who backed out?  What happened?  WHAT HAPPENED???!!!

It also seemed odd that there was no mention or tribute to Ray Manzarek, who passed away the night before.  The news had only broke about it that morning, but still.  I know there was not much of a connection between the two bands… and I am the first to admit that I am not a huge Doors fan, but Ray was an icon of Rock n’ Roll, as were The Doors.

Pushing that aside, and it is actually easy to do given how energetic and enthusiastic and happy the boys were on stage, the show gave me immense pleasure and kept a big smile on my face… and this particular show gave us Mick Taylor on at least FOUR SONGS…

That is what this setlist says, but I think he was out there for another one or two more songs… and he had only been playing on one or two total in all the previous shows!

Many folks will tell you Mick Taylor was the best musician the band ever had… and he was certainly right in the middle of an amazing album period, that included Let It Bleed, Sticky Fingers and Exile On Main Street.  Hell, that may be my favorite run of albums right there… Incredible!

Ego may have been part of what pushed him out of the band.  (i.e. Keith’s jealousy and Mick not giving him enough writing credits).  But he also says it was his own drug abuse that forced him to leave.

Either way it was incredible seeing the literal line up of Keith, Mick and Ronnie all jamming on their axes and all watching each other with true joy and amazement.

Thanks to Chris, the Santa Barbara dude who sold me a $600 seat for a tenth of the price… The seat kicked ass…

And thanks to Denise who always has the best Rock and Roll attitude!

So here is the Setlist…

  1. Get Off of My Cloud
  2. It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It)
  3. Paint It Black
  4. Gimme Shelter
  5. All Down the Line
  6. Far Away Eyes
  7. Sway 
(with Mick Taylor)
  8. Doom and Gloom
  9. One More Shot
  10. Can’t You Hear Me Knocking 
(with Mick Taylor)
  11. Honky Tonk Women 
(followed by band introductions)
  12. You Got the Silver 
(Keith Richards on lead vocals)
  13. Before They Make Me Run 
(Keith Richards on lead vocals)
  14. Midnight Rambler 
(with Mick Taylor)
  15. Miss You
  16. Start Me Up
  17. Tumbling Dice
  18. Brown Sugar
  19. Sympathy for the Devil

ENCORE

20.  You Can’t Always Get What You Want 
(with the USC Thornton Chamber Singers)

21.  Jumpin’ Jack Flash

22.  (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction 
(with Mick Taylor)

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Live Music Reviews, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

