Happy Sad… Remembering George Harrison With A Tear And A Laugh And A Birthday Wish – Always Give Me Love

Life is a funny thing…

And a sad thing… and a beautiful thing… and an ugly thing… and a wonderful thing.

You get the idea.  Life is life.  All we have our the choices we make and the way we live it.  There are too many unknown factors… too many things left to chance… or a higher being, if you believe in that.

The idea should be to love as much as possible… and to leave the world in a better place then how you found it, how it was handed to you.  Not easy.  Simple, but not easy.

George Harrison understood that.  George Harrison understood a lot of things.

He understood spirituality and excess… peace and anger… love and hate.  He lived in the material world but yearned for something more, something higher, something deeper… but never once forgot that he was a man… a simple human being.

His struggle in life and music became our struggle, for he represented us in song, in word, in deed.

He would have been 70 today… younger than my Dad… which is an odd thing for me to ponder.  He left the material world in 2001… ascending to a higher place… but he left behind a fortune, not just a literal one, though there is that… but a musical legacy so rich and wonderful.

He was often overshadowed by John and Paul and while he did not leave behind as large a publishing library, he did create some of the most iconic and unforgettable pieces of music the world will ever know.  He is one of the most prolific and wonderful dark horses this world has seen… and heard.

For me, listening to The Beatles almost defines life… the ups and downs, the highs and lows, the joys and the tears…

One moment I will find bliss and utter jubilation… and in another, I will be struck by the tragedy of John Lennon and the loss of George Harrison and the tears will flow.  It’s funny that music can move us so… Funny, but powerful and hopefully a revelation.  A revelation that every human being in the world… well, almost… responds to music… is moved by music… can fall in love with music.

“While My Guitar Gently Weeps” is one of my most favorite and special Beatles tunes… Hearing it through Jake Shimabukuro’s ukulele just last week was as beautiful and powerful as ever.  You can check out the video that basically started his career here!

But a song that moves me just as much, is his equally iconic “Give Me Love”.  A simple desire, a potent wish… and a valuable lesson to live by… Love.  The simplest, most brutal, wonderful, deep and misunderstood thing in the universe.  At once totally visceral and understood… and then a life-long struggle and mystery.

I don’t feel I need to say anything more… Other than today is a tear day… a happy sad day…

Here is a video… and here are the lyrics.  All I ask is that you sit with this… let it wash over you like a musical baptism… or a mikvah (mikveh) in Judaism… let it meditate you and take you to a higher plane, like a Buddhist monk… and let it make you realize that we are all basically the same…

George Harrison – “Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)”

Or see George playing here…

“Give me love
Give me love
Give me peace on earth
Give me light
Give me life
Keep me free from birth
Give me hope
Help me cope, with this heavy load
Trying to, touch and reach you with,
Heart and soul

Om m m m m m m m m m m m m m
Myyy yyy lord . . .

Please take hold of my hand
That I might understand you

Won’t you please
Oh won’t you

Give me love
Give me love
Give me peace on earth
Give me light
Give me life
Keep me free from birth
Give me hope
Help me cope, with this heavy load
Trying to touch and reach you with,
Heart and soul

Om m m m m m m m m m m m m m
Myyy yyy lord . . .

Won’t you please
Oh won’t you

Give me love
Give me love
Give me peace on earth
Give me light
Give me life
Keep me free from birth
Give me hope
Help me cope, with this heavy load
Trying to touch and reach you with,
Heart and soul”

1 Comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

One response to “Happy Sad… Remembering George Harrison With A Tear And A Laugh And A Birthday Wish – Always Give Me Love

  1. He actually had broad interests which make him perhaps the most interesting of all the boys. Auto racing, film production, gardening, meditation. His work in Hard Day’s Night is oft quoted in our household.

Leave a Reply

