In My Thoughts… In My Brain… Always! Joe Jackson Taught Me That “It’s Different For Girls”

Every once in a while I will lock on to a particular song… play it over and over in rapid succession.  Sometimes it will last a day and sometimes it will be over a period of days or even weeks.  I can often trace where it is coming from, but every once in a while a tune will pop into my head, seemingly coming from nowhere, but most likely be a synapse connecting deep in my unconscious mind.

It might be something new and catchy that is everywhere, like when I had to listen to the live KCRW version of Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know” again and again (Best version out there if you ask me!)  Or perhaps it is an older song that has a new life and maybe even a new meaning or relevance for me… Something that just grabs me at a particular time.  I do not want to use the word obsessed, because it’s not really that.  It goes deeper.

Okay, so PERHAPS I can be obsessive… from time to time.

I am assuming that you have had a similar experience with a song.  Maybe?  Could be?

Anyway, I saw Joe Jackson at The Orpheum a few weeks ago.  He still sounds great and his band was amazing.  He did a lot from the new album The Duke, and of course some classics.  My favorite songs of his are “Breaking Us In Two”, “Is She Really Going Out With Him” and “Real Men”, which he did not play, sadly.  He also played the stunning “A Slow Song”, my buddy Rob’s favorite and did a great live version of “It’s Different For Girls.”

Maybe it was because I had not heard that song in a long time, but I realized how much I really love it… and that was it…

For the last few weeks I have been listening to a lot of Joe… and this one in particular.

Joe Jackson – “It’s Different For Girls”

There has been a lot made of Joe’s sexuality, and as far as I know it is still unclear… at least to the public.  Hey, he has a right to be as private as he wants.  The only reason I even bring it up, is that he seems to have an astounding insight into both.  In this song, he hits on one of the great divides between men and women, sex for sex’s sake and love.  Ah, the eternal question.

Hell, us heterosexual guys have been trying to figure out women since, well, forever!

This song is from the fantastic 1979 album I’m The Man and in typical Joe Jackson fashion, he gives the traditional definitions a little twist… Usually it IS different for girls, at least that is what I have been told… and taught… and think… but here it is the woman who wants sex, while the man wants love.  Okay!

Either way… enjoy!

“What the hell is wrong with you tonight?
I can’t seem to say or do the right thing
Wanted to be sure you’re feeling right
Wanted to be sure we want the same thing
She said – I can’t believe it
You can’t – possibly mean it
Don’t we – all want the same thing
Don’t we
Well who said anything about love
No not love she said
Don’t you know that it’s different for girls
Don’t give me love
No not love she said
Don’t you know that it’s different for girls
You’re all the sameMama always told me, save yourself
Take a little time and find the right girl
Then again don’t end up on the shelf
Logical advice gets you in a whirlI know – a lot of things that
You don’t – you wanna hear some
She said – just give me something
Anything
Well give me all you got but not love
No not love she said
Don’t you know that it’s different for girls
You’re all the same.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

