Turn On The TV, Read The News… Brain On Overload In This “Mad World” Blues – Tears For Fears

Yeah, I know this is supposed to be a political-free blog… but come on… With all that is going on in the world at some point that creeps in… even into a music blog.

This song is just too perfect, sadly, for what I see on the tube… and what I see playing in my own brain.  Breathe, baby, breathe.

Sorry… but in no world and in no way does a stupid movie deserve to have the response of riots and killings and strapping on a bomb and blowing up innocent lives.  There is absolutely no way you can equate the two, and this is the very problem with fanaticism and extremism…

Obviously logic does not play, and that is one of the main problems we must solve.  Moderates you damn well better step up and figure out a way to reign in your extremists and fundamentalists, because right now they are defining you.  Sorry, but those of us who can think and ponder know there is a lot more out there, but when the TV is filled with vitriolic preaching and scenes of blood and destruction, you are going to get a whole hell of a lot of people who think that is what you are all about… all and only about.

The Mitt Romney tapes… Okay, you know what… I am actually a little disturbed at how modern technology has taken away even the most private moments.  Actually, I am very disturbed.  It is disgraceful.  Do I agree with what he said?  No, I do not.  It is pretty reprehensible, and yes, I will reserve full judgement because I did not see the “whole thing”…  and I do agree that editing can change everything.  I guess if you are a public figure you have to expect that “any” public moments, even at a “private” event are fair game… but still…

And these pictures of Kate Middleton???  Enough already.  The sad fact is this… money, money, money.  It rules EVERYTHING.  Ethics and morals are all second fiddle to the great first chair of cash.  Repulsive.

So here we are… Confused… lost… trying to find our way… find the right and just path… be happy… All I want to do is take my computer and TV and toss them out the window… Ironic though, in that if I did, I would not be writing, nor would you be reading this…

Strange times, my friends.  So even though this song is true… let us find a way to make it a happy world.  Naive?  Maybe.  Hopeful?  What else do we have?  Let us all step forward and make this world a better place… even if it is one little step at a time… for a step forward is always better than inaction and moving backwards… Always.

Oh yeah… and the icing on the cake of craziness… the greedy SOB owners have locked out the NHL players… so no hockey… AND… AND… Amazon now has to collect taxes… _()*&^%$&*()(*&^%$%^&*()(*&^%$#@#$%$#$%^&^%$#$#@!%^(P{*()(*&^%$!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tears For Fears – “Mad World” (Written by Roland Orzabal)

Obviously his scenario is very personal and not necessarily about the world outside of his own… but still… It is a very mad world right now… Mad in all its definitions.  And while anger can actually be productive and justified, too often it is destructive and counter intuitive… We must all… ALL… learn the difference.

“All around me are familiar faces
Worn out places, worn out faces
Bright and early for their daily races
Going nowhere, going nowhere
And their tears are filling up their glasses
No expression, no expression
Hide my head I want to drown my sorrow
No tomorrow, no tomorrow
And I find it kind of funny
I find it kind of sad
The dreams in which I’m dying
Are the best I’ve ever had
I find it hard to tell you
‘Cos I find it hard to take
When people run in circles
It’s a very, very
Mad World
Children waiting for the day they feel good
Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday
Made to feel the way that every child should
Sit and listen, sit and listen
Went to school and I was very nervous
No one knew me, no one knew me
Hello teacher tell me what’s my lesson
Look right through me, look right through me”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, Pretty Pretty Politics, The News Blues

Leave a Reply

