My Birthday In The Key of A… “The Weight,” The Band, Great Music And A Whole Lotta Love

I am always fascinated on days like today, when readers from around the world outnumber my US readers 3 to 1… No one is inviting me to come lecture at their university in Spain… sail around on their yacht off Brazil… or even be their pen pal… but it is very cool.  And why ISN’T anyone offering up those things???  Or at least an invite to a major European music festival???  Come one.

Ah well… But such is the power of the world-wide web… the internet… this newfangled concoction created by Al Gore…

Today is my birthday… and I only say that because it is… and I can… and I just did.  It has nothing to do with the blog, at least I don’t think it does.

Today’s realization is that I do not feel anywhere close to may age… I am at least 20 years behind.  Oops, lots of catching up is in order… STAT!  It is also how much I love and adore music and must… MUST have it in my life in some capacity, each and every day!

There are so many new artists I have been listening to.  New bands or new discoveries… Wow!  It is a bit staggering and almost overwhelming.  I will need to update the listening list I JUST posted the other day.  Too many folks I forgot, and ones I do not want you to miss.

But today I was running through some of my favorite tunes… ones I can actually sing… and this one just popped right on in there…

One of the best songs ever!!!

So Happy Birthday to my friend Matt, my friend Mark G… and yes, to me as well.

The Band – “The Weight”

I am assuming you do not even need these… but here they are for your reading enjoyment!

“I pulled into Nazareth, was feelin’ about half past dead
I just need some place where I can lay my head
“Hey, mister, can you tell me where a man might find a bed?”
He just grinned and shook my hand, “no” was all he said

Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And (and) (and) you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)

I picked up my bag, I went lookin’ for a place to hide
When I saw Carmen and the Devil walkin’ side by side
I said, “Hey, Carmen, come on let’s go downtown”
She said, “I gotta go but my friend can stick around”

Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And (and) (and) you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)

Go down, Miss Moses, there’s nothin’ you can say
It’s just ol’ Luke and Luke’s waitin’ on the Judgment Day
“Well, Luke, my friend, what about young Anna Lee?”
He said, “Do me a favor, son, won’t you stay and keep Anna Lee company?”

Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And (and) (and) you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)

Crazy Chester followed me and he caught me in the fog
He said, “I will fix your rack if you’ll take Jack, my dog”
I said, “Wait a minute, Chester, you know I’m a peaceful man”
He said, “That’s okay, boy, won’t you feed him when you can”

Yeah, take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And (and) (and) you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)

Catch a cannon ball now to take me down the line
My bag is sinkin’ low and I do believe it’s time
To get back to Miss Fanny, you know she’s the only one
Who sent me here with her regards for everyone

Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And (and) (and) you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)”

From Wikipedia:  “The Weight” is a song written by Robbie Robertson. Probably the best known, although in U.S. the lowest charting, version was released by The Band as Capitol Records single 2269 in 1968 and appeared one week later on the group’s debut album Music from Big Pink. The song is listed as #41 on Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Songs of All Time published in 2004, and Pitchfork Media named it the thirteenth best song of the Sixties.  The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame named it one of the 500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

