Wishing I Was More Than “High And Dry” As I Scratch My Radiohead And Ponder…

We seem to be on a bit of a theme here… Perhaps it’s because we live in the desert and are experiencing a lot of hot and dry days… Or perhaps my brain is just trapped in a loop.  Who knows.

To be honest, as I was driving home from my volunteer stint at KCRW this was playing on a different radio station… Shhh… I cannot get KCRW in certain parts of town, including the canyons off the PCH!

I have not heard this song in quite some time, but it and “Creep” are the two introductions I had to Radiohead… Those two songs plus “Fake Plastic Trees” are still my most favorite and cherished songs from the band.

I do not pretend to understand all of the things Radiohead have done to change music.  I know they are an important band… but most importantly, they are a band I genuinely like and respect.  That is really the key… with wine and music and many things, actually.  It does not much matter what it costs… well… of course it does… we do live in America.  A $100 wine is easy to buy and impress folks with… but finding a bottle for under $20 that garners the same reaction is a lot more exciting to me.  People need to remember that… they should like what they like… damn the critics and the cost and anyone else!  Period!

I like Radiohead… on my own time and discovery.  I came to them before anyone told me to.  I would to love to know more about the musical ground they have broken… and I will figure it out.  I will learn it.  I am trying to embark on a journey of music history… expand my knowledge and understanding even more.  It is a journey I am looking forward to and will gladly share with all of you.  Hell, I am sure it will become a vital part of this blog.

In the meantime… I am sad today.  The news broke that Lance Armstrong is not going to keep the fight to clear his name going… He finds it too distracting and more and more like a battle he cannot win.  By giving up he is going to be banned from the sport for life and stripped of all his Tour De France wins… this is egregious.  He was never proven guilty… never caught doping as far as I know… So why now?  Why go after someone who has and is doing so much good???  Going after Clemens made sense… He was and is an arrogant prick who fought for the sake of fighting… He won nothing and his reputation is still in shatters.  Same with Barry Bonds.  But Lance was different.  Lance seems like a genuinely great guy and his foundations have helped so many deal with cancer… and he was tested for years and years and nothing was ever proven against him.  I just don’t get it… don’t get the vicious witch hunt.  But that is the country we live in… Split along the lines of ideology… Puritanical and hypocritical.

This election is already harsh, already shedding and shining a light on all our divides.  Maybe someday we’ll get back to the greatness of America.  Someday we’ll all fall in love with the United States again.  It remains the greatest country out there, but there is so much more we can do… So much more… Until then, we are all left feeling a little high and dry.  So let it rain, baby… let it rain!

Radiohead – “High And Dry”

“Two jumps in a week
I bet you think that’s pretty clever don’t you boy?
Flying on your motorcycle,
Watching all the ground beneath you drop
You’d kill yourself for recognition,
Kill yourself to never ever stop
You broke another mirror,
You’re turning into something you are notDon’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dryDrying up in conversation,
You will be the one who cannot talk
All your insides fall to pieces,
You just sit there wishing you could still make love
They’re the ones who’ll hate you
When you think you’ve got the world all sussed out
They’re the ones who’ll spit at you,
You will be the one screaming outDon’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry

It’s the best thing that you ever had,
The best thing that you ever, ever had
It’s the best thing that you ever had,
The best thing you ever had has gone away

Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry
Don’t leave me high, don’t leave me dry”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

