Odd Day… Strange Thoughts… No Rain, But “She’s Thunderstorms” – The Arctic Monkeys

There are days when I wake up in pain… or have an odd twitch… or a pulled muscle.  Perhaps it is just a sign of getting older.  But man, pulling a muscle in my sleep makes me feel like an idiot!  Could I at least do it at the gym or kicking an extra point like I did yesterday at the Rose Bowl… twice!  Hey, out of three times, that ain’t bad… so says Meat Loaf… Especially for someone as far away from a jock as Bill Gates is to Peyton Manning.  And no, sadly, I have NOTHING in common with Bill Gates, either.  Sheesh.

Then again, these pulls and injuries happened when I was younger as well, just not as frequently perhaps.  I think the human body is just a strange and interesting machine, one that we are far, far from understanding.  One that has amazing powers, yet can be brought down with a sneeze… Come on, who has thrown their back out sneezing?  Raise your hands!

My brain and thoughts do the same thing.  There are simply days when I wake up sad and depressed.  While I am sure I can trace it to something specific, and with my career in the crapper, there is always that… but I don’t know.  Dreams, perhaps?  It’s just a strange thing.

The news of Tony Scott’s suicide shook me up… and now the revelation that he had inoperable brain cancer explains a little, but raises even more questions.  Does your family not get your life insurance if you kill yourself?  If so, that sucks… But then again, so would living with a brain tumor… Not everyone wants to fight that battle… and while I do not know personally, thank G-d and the heavens, I have seen folks fighting cancer and it sucks beyond anything… and the burden it puts on your family is intense.  Then again, loved one and friends always seem to rise to the occasion.  Most of them anyway… I don’t know.

So there is my mind-set today.  Sorry.  And while I am thinking of it… does Taylor Swift bug the shit out of anyone else???  I just find her sincerity and honesty to be phony and a big pile of poo… So yeah, that’s me…

But I think I found a song that will raise me out of the muck and mire… and hopefully give you some pleasure, too!

Arctic Monkeys – “She’s Thunderstorms”

This is great song…a  real pop gem!  I am still digesting the whole record, Suck It And See… Yeah, I love that title, sorry… but so far I am digging on it.  I cannot say these lyrics, when read, are remarkable… but the song as a whole works quite well.  Thanks to KCRW for the record… For those who don’t know, they are in the middle of their semiannual pledge drive, so give if you can.

“She’s thunderstorms
Lying on her front
Up against the wall
She’s thunderstormsI’ve been feeling foolish
You should try it
She came and substituted
The peace and quiet for
Acrobatic blood flow
Concertina cheating heart beat
Rapid fire

She’s thunderstorms
Lying on her front
Up against the wall
She’s thunderstorms

Here is your host
Sounds as if she’s pretty close
When the heat starts growing horns
She’s thunderstorms

She’s been loop the looping
Around my mind
Her motorcycle boots give me
This kind of acrobatic blood
Concertina cheating heart beat
Rapid fire

She’s thunderstorms
Lying on her front
Up against the wall
She’s thunderstorms
In an unusual place
When you’re feeling far away
She does what the night does to the day

She’s thunderstorms
Lying on her front
Up against the wall
She’s thunderstorms
Thunderstorms
Thunderstorms.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

