It’s Been One Of Those Days… So Maybe It Will Be “One Of These Nights” – The Eagles

Today needs to be put in a bottle and sent off to sea… or better yet,  trashed in a compactor.  Wow.

All seems to be okay, but the hours I wasted on fixing things that should not have required fixing… I hate wasting so much time.

Any good suggestions for “today has been crappy” songs?  Send ’em my way… We’ll make a list…

This one is the counter balance to all that… so let me have a good night.  I need a good night.

The Eagles – “One Of These Nights”

And I’ll say it again… I frickin’ LOVE The Eagles, so sue me… and Don Henley kicks ass!

“One of these nights
One of these crazy old nights
We’re gonna find out
Pretty mama
What turns on your lights
The full moon is calling
The fever is high
And the wicked wind whispers
And moans

You got your demons
You got desires
Well, I got a few of my own

Oo, someone to be kind to in
Between the dark and the light
Oo, coming right behind you
Swear I’m gonna find you
One of these nights

One of these dreams
One of these lost and lonely dreams
We’re gonna find one
One that really screams

I’ve been searching for the daughter
Of the devil himself
I’ve been searching for an angel in white
I’ve been waiting for a woman who’s a little of both
And I can feel her but she’s nowhere in sight

Oo, loneliness will blind you
In between the wrong and the right
Oo, coming right behind you
Swear I’m gonna find you
One of these nights

One of these nights
In between the dark and the light
Coming right behind you
Swear I’m gonna find you
Get ‘ya baby one of these nights
One of these nights
One of these nights
I can feel it
I can feel it
One of these nights
Coming right behind you
Swear I’m gonna find you now
One of these nights…”

From AllMusic:

“One of These Nights” was the title song, leadoff track, and first single from the Eagles’ fourth album. After taking a country-rock approach on their first two albums, Eagles and Desperado, the group had changed producers, added an electric guitarist to their lineup, and moved toward more mainstream pop/rock with their third, On the Border. The result was an uptick in album sales and their first number one single, “Best of My Love.” The One of These Nights album continued in the band’s new direction. With a prominent, sinuous bass line and a disco beat (though no one would have called it that at the time), the title song took a darker view of romance than “Best of My Love,” its lyrics suggestive if generalized. In the first verse, the singer tells his “pretty mama” that one of these nights they’re going to find out “what turns on your lights.” But in the second verse, he says that he has been trying to find a woman who is part angel and part devil, and though she’s not present, he can feel her. The two verses don’t quite make sense together, of course, but literal meaning is less important than the overall impression that the narrator wants to make a mystical connection with a woman whom he recognizes will have both positive and negative elements. In this sense, the song harks back to “Witchy Woman” and looks forward to “Hotel California.” And far more important than the lyrics is the song’s arrangement, its compelling rhythm tracks topped by Randy Meisner’s falsetto singing on the choruses.

Released as a single on June 14, 1975, two weeks ahead of the LP, “One of These Nights” hit number one in August. The album also topped the charts. The song is so closely associated with the Eagles that the only covers of it have been on Eagles tribute records. Of course, it was included on Eagles/Their Greatest Hits 1971-1975, which became the best-selling album of the 20th century.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

