When It’s Red And Hot, Find The Blue… The Cool Pool Blue With Blues Traveler And A “Run-Around”

Ah, Sunday afternoon in the blistering heat… Yesterday my car thermometer said 105!  And strangely, it has been a lot more humid here than I recall…

Luckily friends have pools and have few issues with self-generated invitations… Thanks, friends!!!

With that said, allow me to dedicate this cool, refreshing little diddy (No, not P.) to all of my friends who let me swim, dip and basically bathe in your cool pool water.  I don’t actually BATHE… it just sounded right…

Blues Traveler – “Run Around

This is another one of those super “feel good” songs… and how I loved and still love this band!!!  I WISH I was as good on the harp as John Popper.  He always… pun slightly intended… blew me away!

The song is off their great fourth album four, that came out in 1994.  This was the mega, always on the radio, monster hit!  It won a Grammy Award “and broke a record for most weeks on the chart.”

“Once upon a midnight dreary
I woke with something in my head
I couldn’t escape the memory
Of a phone call and of what you said
Like a game show contestant with a parting gift
I could not believe my eyes
When I saw through the voice of a trusted friend
Who needs to humour me and tell me lies
Yeah humour me and tell me lies

And I’ll lie too and say I don’t mind
And as we seek so shall we find
And when you’re feeling open I’ll still be here
But not without a certain degree of fear
Of what will be with you and me
I still can see things hopefully
But you
Why you wanna give me a run-around
Is it a sure-fire way to speed things up
When all it does is slow me down

And shake me and my confidence
About a great many things
But I’ve been there I can see it cower
Like a nervous magician waiting in the wings
Of a bad play where the heroes are right
And nobody thinks or expects too much
And Hollywood’s calling for the movie rights
Singing hey babe let’s keep in touch
Hey baby let’s keep in touch
But I want more than a touch I want you to reach me
And show me all the things no one else can see
So what you feel becomes mine as well
And soon if we’re lucky we’d be unable to tell
What’s yours and mine the fishing’s fine
And it doesn’t have to rhyme so don’t feed me a line
But you
Why you wanna give me a run-around
Is it a sure-fire way to speed things up
When all it does is slow me down

Tra la la la la bomba dear this is the pilot speaking
And I’ve got some news for you
It seems my ship still stands no matter what you drop
And there ain’t a whole lot that you can do
Oh sure the banner may be torn and the wind’s gotten colder
Perhaps I’ve grown a little cynical
But I know no matter what the waitress brings
I shall drink in and always be full
Yeah, I will drink in and always be full

Oh I like coffee
And I like tea
I’d like to be able to enter a final plea
I still got this dream that you just can’t shake
I love you to the point you can no longer take
Well all right okay
So be that way
I hope and pray
That there’s something left to say
But you
Why you wanna give me a run-around
Is it a sure-fire way to speed things up
When all it does is slow me down
But you
Why you wanna give me a run-around
Is it a sure-fire way to speed things up
When all it does is slow me down.”

Wikipedia says a lot about the band… and informed me that they just put out a new record a month ago… How did I not know this???  Not much PR push… Sad!!!  Yes, I will be checking it out.  I have lost touch with their more recent stuff and surely owe them some new exploration!

Blues Traveler is a rock band, formed in Princeton, New Jersey in 1987. The band has been influenced by a variety of genres, including blues-rock, psychedelic rock, folk rock, soul, and Southern rock. They are known for extensive use of segues in their live performances.

Currently, the group comprises singer and harmonica player John Popper, guitarist Chan Kinchla, drummer Brendan Hill, bassist Tad Kinchla and keyboardist Ben Wilson. Tad Kinchla and Ben Wilson joined the band following the death of original bassist Bobby Sheehan in 1999.

While Blues Traveler is best known among fans for their improvisational live shows, the general public is most familiar with the group from their Top 40 singles “But Anyway”, “Run-Around” and “Hook”. They gained mainstream popularity after their fourth studio album four, released in 1994.

Sheehan’s death and Popper’s struggle with obesity put a damper on the group’s success, and A&M dropped the band in 2002. However, the band took this transition period as an opportunity to start in new directions musically, going largely independent and releasing on smaller experimental labels.

Blues Traveler recorded a “best-of” collection of older songs reinterpreted with acoustic instrumentation called Cover Yourself, released October 2007; a studio album, North Hollywood Shootout, was released on the Verve Forecast label August 26, 2008.

In March 2012, Blues Traveler released a double disc album entitled 25 off of Hip-O Records. The album commemorates the band’s 25 year anniversary includes the band’s greatest hits, new covers, unreleased b-side material.

Blues Traveler’s newest album Suzie Cracks the Whip, was released on June 26th 2012 off of 429 Records.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

