It’s Not Summer Without A Summer Breeze… Seals & Crofts

I don’t think that my mind has jasmine in it, but it might be nice if it did.

This is one of those songs that just makes me feel good.  If it comes on, it stays on.  It came out in 1972 and it seems like it has been with me all my life… and it has, almost.  “Easy Listening” has such a negative connotation, but not all of it is nasty elevator music… hardly.  There are so many songs that are not simply classified as Pop, not simply anything other than Easy Listening.

“If music be the food of love, play on…”

Seals & Crofts – “Summer Breeze”

Check out this very cool video… and then take in the lyrics… Ahhh… This song is summer.  This song is youth.  This song is past, present and future.  It is memory and pictures in my mind.

“See the curtains hangin’ in the window
In the evening on a Friday night
A little light-a-shinin’ through the window
Lets me know everything’s all right

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ through the jasmine in my mind
Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ though the jasmine in my mind

See the paper layin’ on the sidewalk
A little music from the house next door
So I walk on up to the doorstep
Through the screen and across the floor

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ through the jasmine in my mind
Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ through the jasmine in my mind

Sweet days of summer — the jasmine’s in bloom
July is dressed up and playing her tune
And I come home from a hard day’s work
And you’re waitin’ there
Not a care in the world

See the smile awaitin’ in the kitchen
Through cookin’ and the plates for two
Feel the arms that reach out to hold me
In the evening when the day is through

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowing through the jasmine in my mind
Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowing through the jasmine in my mind.”

“Bruce Eder of Allmusic referred to it as “one of those relentlessly appealing 1970s harmony-rock anthems,” “appropriately ubiquitous on the radio and in the memory”.  One of the distinctive backing instruments on Summer Breeze is a child’s toy piano. The single reached #6 pop, #4 easy listening on the U.S. Billboard charts in autumn 1972.

Seals and Crofts performed the song live on a 1972 Bobby Darin show.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

