Pure Pop And One Of The Best Ever: The Story Of Many A Guy – “There She Goes” By The La’s

Certain songs are infectious… they go “racing through my brain” and begin “pulsing through my vein.”

Certain songs just change the air in a room… and the mood in a body… or many bodies.

Certain songs just grab us in all the right places and in the right way!

I was having one of those days where silence actually seemed to be preferable.  Nothing was jumping out at me, and I seemed content to not listen to much.  But I pushed through that… and as I was scrolling through my iTunes, this is what hit me.

What makes a great pop song?  For me they are usually short and sweet… Under three minutes with a great, catchy hook.  And simple.  I am not saying that complex ideas and lyrics don’t have a place in pop… Of course they do.  Great music is great music and whatever works, works.  This is just simplicity at its best and this tune and Del Amitri’s “Roll To Me” always top my list.  So enjoy… and change your mood if you need it.

The La’s – “There She Goes” (Written by Lee Mavers)

The video is grainy, but I think you will enjoy it nonetheless… If you want just the tune… check it out here!

“There she goes
There she goes again
Racing through my brain
And I just can’t contain
This feelin’ that remains

There she blows
There she blows again
Pulsing through my vein

And I just can’t contain
This feelin’ that remains

There she goes, there she goes again
She calls my name, pulls my train
No-one else could heal my pain

And I just can’t contain
This feelin’ that remains

There she goes
There she goes again
Chasing down my lane

And I just can’t contain
This feelin’ that remains.”

How naive am I to just be finding out that this song MIGHT be about heroin???  Oy.  I guess in a way that is good, but man… Duh…

Take it away Wikipedia

There She Goes” is a song written by British singer/guitarist Lee Mavers and recorded first by Mavers’ band, The La’s.

In May 2007, the NME magazine placed the song at number 45 in its list of the 50 Greatest Indie Anthems Ever.”

“Structurally, the song is very simple and contains no verses, only a single chorus repeated four times and a bridge.

“There She Goes” has gained a reputation for being about the use of heroin; the lyrics seem to refer to a woman, but on closer inspection of some lines (“There she goes again… racing through my brain… pulsing through my vein… no one else can heal my pain”), the possible drug connotations become apparent. Several newspapers ran articles about The La’s and their apparent ode to heroin. When asked about the rumour in 1995, the group’s bassist John Power replied, “I don’t know. Truth is, I don’t wanna know. Drugs and madness go hand in hand. People who you’ve known all your life… they’re steady, then they’re not. But you can’t ponder, ’cause it kills you, la.'”[2] However, in the 2003 book In Search of The La’s: A Secret Liverpool by MW Macefield, ex-La’s guitarist Paul Hemmings denied the rumour, and added, “Jeremy Fisher, you don’t know what you are talking about.” In an Interview with the BBC, lead guitarist for the single John Byrne also denied the rumour stating “It’s just a love song about a girl that you like but never talk to.”

The song borrows from The Velvet Underground’s “There She Goes Again,” particularly the accents that separate the choruses.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

