This Is For You, Daddy… And For All Daddies – Stevie Nicks and Fleetwood Mac Bring On A Landslide

It’s funny… this song is not really about fathers at all… but it’s the first thing that popped into my head today… and I am sure it’s because when Stevie Nicks introduces it on The Dance album, she says, “This is for you, Daddy.”

That is the version I am listening to today…

This song is one of the most beautiful you will ever hear.  It often brings me to tears, always moves me and always makes me happy.  So that is why I am offering it up to my Father on this Father’s Day.  And I’ll send it out to my Brother today, too.  And what the heck… I’ll send this out to my friends who are fathers as well.  I am so fortunate to know so many good men, good people, who just happen to be really good fathers, too.  I hope I can walk in your footsteps and deliver the same love and affection you do!

Life is about beauty… about finding things that move you… about fighting for love, even in the midst of a landslide…

My family was and is always about love, and for that I am eternally lucky and eternally grateful.  I was blessed to be born into a home filled with love and kindness.  Others are not so lucky, and I made more aware of this each and every day.  I thank the stars for their light, the snow for its pure beauty and my parents for creating me.

We’re all afraid of changing… It’s hard to do.  As we get older, life gets a bit stranger… Aches grow, mortality screams… I don’t know if I am exactly Peter Pan, but the idea of staying young is something I cling to.

Stevie says this line, which always gets me… always…

“But time makes you bolder
Even children get older and I’m getting older too.”

So much truth in this song… so much of everything in this song… And so today, perhaps I will climb a mountain… or take a hike or a walk… and I will turn around… And I will hope and pray that I can stay up amongst that beauty for as long as I can… before a landslide brings me down.

Happy Father’s Day!

Fleetwood Mac – “Landslide” (Written by Stevie Nicks)

“I took my love, I took it down

Climbed a mountain and I turned around
And I saw my reflection in the snow covered hills
Till the landslide brought me down

Oh, mirror in the sky, what is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?
Mmm, mmm, mmm

Well, I’ve been afraid of changing
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes you bolder
Even children get older and I’m getting older too

Well, I’ve been afraid of changing
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes you bolder
Even children get older and I’m getting older too
Oh, I’m getting older too

Awh, take my love, take it down
Awh, climb a mountain and turn around
And if you see my reflection in the snow covered hills
Well, the landslide bring it down

And if you see my reflection in the snow covered hills
Well, the landslide bring it down
Oh, the landslide bring it down”

Wikipedia says “Landslide” is a song written by Stevie Nicks and performed by British-American music group Fleetwood Mac. It was first featured on the band’s 1975 eponymous album Fleetwood Mac. Along with Rhiannon, it would be Nicks’s first original contribution to the band upon joining. A live version was released as a single 23 years later from the live reunion album The Dance.”

Nicks has said that she wrote this song while she was contemplating going back to school or continuing on with guitarist Lindsey Buckingham. Buckingham Nicks had been dropped by Polydor Records and she and Buckingham were not getting along. She wrote the song while visiting Aspen, Colorado, sitting in someone’s living room “looking out at the Rocky Mountains pondering the avalanche of everything that had come crashing down on us … at that moment, my life truly felt like a landslide in many ways.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

