Stay Here As Long As You Like, But I’m “Already Gone” And Flying Like The Eagles

I was just looking through the ‘ol blog backlog and discovered I have 45 drafts of things that have never been published… What is up with that???!!!  Guess I will go through them and pull some out of the vault… Consider it special, bonus material… or not… Maybe it is a draft for a reason…

I know for sure one of those “drafts” was held back because it was way too political. So we shall see… Either way, it will be fun to see what got left behind.

Today’s song is one of my favorites, party because it has two of my favorite lyrics of all time… and mostly because it is a great song…

Without further adieu, I give you some perfect words to live and learn by…

“Just remember this, my girl, when you look up in the sky
You can see the stars and still not see the light.”

And one of the best notions to always keep in mind…

“So often times it happens that we live our lives in chains
And we never even know we have the key .”

The Eagles – “Already Gone” (Written by Robb Strandlund and Jack Tempchin)

Enjoy this old video!  Listen, read the lyrics… and then go back and watch!!!

“Well, I heard some people talkin’ just the other day
And they said you were gonna put me on a shelf
But let me tell you I got some news for you
And you’ll soon find out it’s true
And then you’ll have to eat your lunch all by yourself
‘Cause I’m already gone
And I’m feelin’ strong
I will sing this victory song, woo, hoo,hoo,woo,hoo,hooThe letter that you wrote me made me stop and wonder why
But I guess you felt like you had to set things right
Just remember this, my girl, when you look up in the sky
You can see the stars and still not see the light (that’s right)And I’m already gone
And I’m feelin’ strong
I will sing this victory song, woo, hoo,hoo,woo, hoo,hooWell I know it wasn’t you who held me down
Heaven knows it wasn’t you who set me free
So often times it happens that we live our lives in chains
And we never even know we have the key

But me, I’m already gone
And I’m feelin’ strong
I will sing this victory song
‘Cause I’m already gone
Yes, I’m already gone
And I’m feelin’ strong
I will sing this victory song
‘Cause I’m already gone
Yes, I’m already gone
Already gone
All right, nighty-night”

Wikipedia says: “Already Gone”, which is four minutes and 13 seconds long, was written by Robb Strandlund and Jack Tempchin.  In the liner notes for the album The Very Best of Eagles, Glenn Frey said that Tempchin sent him a tape of the song through the mail. Tempchin had already written one of the Eagles’ previous singles, “Peaceful Easy Feeling”.

“Already Gone” was one of the first songs that the Eagles recorded after they moved to Los Angeles, and it was produced by Bill Szymczyk.  Frey was the lead vocalist.

What do I say?  I say I love this song.  I say this is what really got me into country-rock and really the one that solidified my love for The Eagles… and I say, to anyone who does not like this band… WTF???

You may be still here sittin’ around, but I am already gone, baby!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

