For The Sake Of The Song: Jeanie Should Definitely Wear “Slit Skirts”, Right Mr. Pete Townshend?

Sorry… one more I HAVE TO DO!

Somewhere along the line I lost my copy of Pete Townshend’s All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes.  That was not a good thing, especially given that the CD was out of print for a long while…

Although, I just checked Amazon and the 2000 remaster is up there, but I could have sworn it was only available as an expensive Import… Hmmm… That one has three extra bonus tracks and the songs in a completely different order… I AM SO CONFUSED!

It is DEFINITELY NOT available on iTunes… Odd.

Anyway, I was at Amoeba on Monday and lo and behold, there it was in the used bin… and available for a song!  This one also has the gorgeous “The Sea Refuses No River”… another one of my absolute Pete faves!  Mmmm… and of course “Face Dances Part Two”.

Pete Townshend – “Slit Skirts”

This song is nothing short of magnificent… A truly remarkable piece of poetry set to music… It is pure fire and water and alternates between a fantastic rocker with music that literally sets my soul on fire and then, at the very same time, fills it with a salty ocean of tears.

So many thoughts and ideas here… love and life and politics… Getting old and seeing so many things pass you by… Looking at the world and seeing so much love lost… and how things that are lost are so desperately longed for… No wonder it kills me.  How fricking ironic.

The one that always grabs me by the heart the most is…

“And I know that when she thinks of me, she thinks of me as him…”

Kill me now!  That is what this line does.  Let me just pull this dagger from my heart…

The rest of the song is so equally powerful!

Check out a great old video here… or you can just hear the album version

Listen while you read the lyrics… or just close your eyes and go on a fucking amazing journey… or both.  I’ll be here…

“I was just thirty-four years old and I was still wandering in a haze
I was wondering why everyone I met seemed like they were lost in a maze

I don’t know why I thought I should have some kind of
Divine right to the blues
It’s sympathy not tears people need when they’re the
Front page sad news.

The incense burned away and the stench began to rise
And lovers now estranged avoided catching each others’ eyes

And girls who lost their children cursed the men who fit the coil
And men not fit for marriage took their refuge in the oil
No one respects the flame quite like the fool who’s badly burned
From all this you’d imagine that there must be something learned

Slit skirts, Jeanie never wears those slit skirts
I don’t ever wear no ripped shirts
Can’t pretend that growing older never hurts.

Knee pants, Jeanie never wears no knee pants
Have to be so drunk to try a new dance
So afraid of every new romance

Slit skirts, slit skirt
Jeanie isn’t wearing those slit skirts, slit skirt
She wouldn’t dare in those slit skirts, slit skirt
Wouldn’t be seen dead in no slit skirt

Slit skirts, slit skirt
Jeanie isn’t wearing those slit skirts, slit skirt
She wouldn’t dare in those slit skirts, slit skirt
Wouldn’t be seen dead in no slit skirt

Romance, romance, why aren’t we thinking up romance?
Why can’t we drink it up true heart romance
Just need a brief new romance

Let me tell you some more about myself, you know I’m sitting at home just now.
The big events of the day are passed and the late TV shows have come around.
I’m number one in the home team, but I still feel unfulfilled.
A silent voice in her broken heart complaining that I’m unskilled.

And I know that when she thinks of me, she thinks of me as him,
But, unlike me, she don’t work off her frustration in the gym.

Recriminations fester and the past can never change
A woman’s expectations run from both ends of the range

Once she walked with untamed lovers’ face between her legs
Now he’s cooled and stifled and it’s she who has to beg

Slit skirts, Jeanie never wears those slit skirts
And I don’t ever wear no ripped shirts
Can’t pretend that growing older never hurts

Knee pants, Jeanie never wears no knee pants
We have to be so drunk to try a new dance
So afraid of every new romance

Slit skirts, slit skirt
Jeanie isn’t wearing those slit skirts, slit skirt
She wouldn’t dare in those slit skirts, slit skirt
Wouldn’t be seen dead in no slit skirt

Slit skirts, slit skirt
Jeanie isn’t wearing those slit skirts, slit skirt
She wouldn’t dare in those slit skirts, slit skirt
Wouldn’t be seen dead in no slit skirt

Romance, romance, why aren’t we thinking up romance?
Why can’t we drink it up true heart romance
Just need a brief new romance.”

AllMusic says:  “Like most of the material from 1982’s All the Best Cowboys, “Slit Skirts” is a contemplative piece, this time draped with the personal, self-analysis of an aging man, and an aging rock star. The album may have been Townshend’s least successful, but “Slit Skirts” stands out somewhat as a song wallowing in the realization of middle age while acknowledging the fact that youth will always be a thing of the past (giving the Who’s plea of hoping to die before they get old some added conviction).”

“Townshend has always been a master songwriter, and while “Slit Skirts” isn’t a masterpiece by any means, it’s a fine example of how he can articulate the hardships of age and the pain of looking back.”

Ummm, hey AllMusic… you are so wrong here.  This a fricking masterpiece like you would not believe.  Everything about this song is astounding… and the fact that I have just listened to it five times in a row and am moved to tears almost every time… Yeah… It’s a masterpiece.  My three cents!

2 Comments

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, Uncategorized

2 responses to “For The Sake Of The Song: Jeanie Should Definitely Wear “Slit Skirts”, Right Mr. Pete Townshend?

  1. The first time I heard Slit Skirts was in 1982, I believe. I was working at a cemetery and dating a pretty redhead. I had a friend working at the cemetery and I joined his boxing gym and started having amateur fights. This was my youth although I got a late start in the ring.
    This song mesmerized me. I had this old beater of a Ford that played cassette tapes. I played Slit Skirts over and over. There is a heartwrenching pathos to this song. I understood it right away.
    It is a masterpiece. I’ll never get tired of it.

  2. Yeah man. I hear you. As a young kid I use to just wait for this song to come on MTV. It was in pretty heavy rotation. I just loved the changing tempos and chorus was just so catchy. I would make sure know one was watching and get out my tennis racket and pretend I was Pete and just sing away and pretend to play guitar. Now I am in my middle age years and I just started thinking about this song and how I never hear it anymore. Thanks to the internet I found it and started listening to the lyrics and crap….I had no idea how contemplative and how much self reflecting and overall sadness there was to this song. This huge reality of middle age set in and he wrote it down and created this damn fine song…a real poetic and catchy tune. Just another example of how under rated he is as a song writer (even though he is regarded as a great song writer, I feel he gets lost in the mix some what). anyway, I hear that damn Pina Colada song all the time and never hear this. I have been re-listening to it for days now and not tired of it yet.

Leave a Reply

