For The Sake Of The Song: Because Sometimes We All Need To Be “Comfortably Numb”… Collect Call From Mr. Pink Floyd

Last one of mine… I promise to get to your songs starting tomorrow… Probably…

There were some amazing and emotional stories and connections.  Wow.  Thanks for sharing.

So…Roger Waters and I are miles apart… We were when he wrote the lyrics of this song… and we are now.  I cannot possibly understand the specifics he speaks of, yet this song moves me… this song is so utterly powerful for me.  It is one of my most favorite songs of all time… Maybe THE favorite.

Fascinating…

Politically, we are on opposite sides of some things.  Not all, but one in particular that is very important to me.  However… we do try to avoid politics on this blog, and so we shall.

The song is credited to both David Gilmour and Roger Waters.

Pink Floyd – “Comfortably Numb”

Here is the video from the movie of The Wall.  Powerful stuff!  This song evokes such strong emotion from me… and it changes depending on the time and place…

If you would like to just listen, check this out

Listen now… read the words… We’ll meet back at the end…

“Hello?

Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me.
Is there anyone at home?
Come on, now,
I hear you’re feeling down.
Well I can ease your pain
Get you on your feet again.
Relax.
I’ll need some information first.
Just the basic facts.
Can you show me where it hurts?

There is no pain, you are receding
A distant ship, smoke on the horizon.
You are only coming through in waves.
Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying.
When I was a child I had a fever
My hands felt just like two balloons.
Now I’ve got that feeling once again
I can’t explain you would not understand
This is not how I am.
I have become comfortably numb.

O.K.
Just a little pinprick.
There’ll be no more aaaaaaaaah!
But you may feel a little sick.
Can you stand up?
I do believe it’s working, good.
That’ll keep you going through the show
Come on it’s time to go.

There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship, smoke on the horizon.
You are only coming through in waves.
Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying.
When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye.
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown,
The dream is gone.
I have become comfortably numb.

 Wow, wow, wow…

According to Wikipedia… “While most songs on The Wall were written by Waters alone, most of the music for “Comfortably Numb” was written by David Gilmour, who originally recorded the instrumental demo during the latter stages of recording his first solo album, hoping to find some later use for it. Gilmour later brought his demo of it to The Wall sessions.”

“The song is one of the most famous Pink Floyd songs and renowned especially for its guitar solos.  In 2004, the song was ranked number 314 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.  In 2005, it was the last song ever to be performed by Waters, Gilmour, Wright, and Mason together. In 2011, the song was ranked 5th in the BBC Radio 4’s listeners’ Desert Island Discs choices.”

“According to Rolling Stone, the lyrics came from Roger Waters’ experience when he was injected with tranquilizers for stomach cramps by a doctor prior to playing a Pink Floyd show in Philadelphia on the band’s 1977 In the Flesh tour.  “That was the longest two hours of my life,” Waters said, “trying to do a show when you can hardly lift your arm.” The experience gave him the idea which eventually became the lyrics to this song.”

“Waters and Gilmour disagreed about how to record the song as Gilmour preferred a more grungy style for the verses. In the end, Waters’ preferred opening to the song and Gilmour’s final solo were used on the album. Gilmour would later say, “We argued over “Comfortably Numb” like mad. Really had a big fight, went on for ages.”  For the backing of Gilmour’s vocal section, he and session player Lee Ritenour used a pair of high-strung acoustic guitars (i.e. just the treble strings from a 12-string guitar), a tuning also used for the intro to “Hey You”).”

So there’s a whole lot of history on this amazing song.  I love all that stuff.

But most importantly is what we hear, and there is so much going on… so much.  Mmmm!

I’m listening again… because there are just some days we all need to go comfortably numb.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

