For The Sake Of The Song – Simon & Garfunkel Take Me Across “America”

I find if I do not write things down I forget them… That is why I keep lists of things I need to do and take care of.  I can literally have a thought pass through my brain and have it gone before it is even finished.

It’s a bit crazy and frightening.  Recently my parents were out and my mother was telling a very funny story about something that happened to us in a Spanish restaurant in Newark when I was a kid.  It was one of those things you think would stay with you… and it did stay with her… but for me… a complete blank.  Scary.  I recently watched a PBS special with Dr. Daniel Amen, who claims that eating right, exercising, meditating, reducing stress and keeping your brain sharp can possibly ward off dementia and Alzheimer’s.  He has a new incarnation of a previous book called Use Your Brain To Change Your Age and I am on the wait list for it… I have to do something as I am forgetting so many things from my past.  I know that stress, frustration and depression have a huge impact on the health of your brain and memory, so that might explain a lot, but still… I need to figure this out… or keep writing things down before they’re gone, gone.hin

As bad as my memory seems to be as of late, there are times when things will randomly pop in there..  It may be a visual or a story or a full on movie of times gone by.  I still have vivid deja vus, although they do not seem to complete themselves like they once did, if that makes sense.  I had one the other day for example… everything was happening as I remembered, except in the previous incarnation the doorbell rang.  Everything BUT that happened… It was so odd.  I even caught myself saying “Oh, the doorbell is going to ring now.”

I waited and waited and waited… and nothing.  So strange.

When I was back in New Jersey, this song started randomly playing in my head.  In fact, it was there before I actually got to Jersey.  There I was on the plane with my carefully selected iPod tunes and my Bose noise-cancelling headphones that seem to suck the air out of my ears and create a vacuum… and there it was.

Simon & Garfunkel – “America”

I immediately looked for it, and while there were many other S&G tunes, that one was not there.  Aaaggghhh!  It continued to pop up and play on my brain’s stereo in the oddest places and the oddest times.  I guess it makes sense, I mean I was flying across America, but as much as I love this song it is not one I play daily.  In fact, I do not recall the last time I really listened to it on my own… And it is rare to hear it on the radio.  Not that I don’t listen to Simon & Garfunkel.  I love their music.  And now I am rambling…

Enjoy…

“Let us be lovers we’ll marry our fortunes together”
“I’ve got some real estate here in my bag”
So we bought a pack of cigarettes and Mrs. Wagner pies
And we walked off to look for America

“Kathy,” I said as we boarded a Greyhound in Pittsburgh
“Michigan seems like a dream to me now”
It took me four days to hitchhike from Saginaw
I’ve gone to look for America
Laughing on the bus
Playing games with the faces
She said the man in the gabardine suit was a spy
I said “Be careful his bow tie is really a camera”

“Toss me a cigarette, I think there’s one in my raincoat”
“We smoked the last one an hour ago”
So I looked at the scenery, she read her magazine
And the moon rose over an open field

“Kathy, I’m lost,” I said, though I knew she was sleeping
I’m empty and aching and I don’t know why
Counting the cars on the New Jersey Turnpike
They’ve all gone to look for America
All gone to look for America
All gone to look for America”

Some of my very favorite lyrics here… “I’ve got some real estate here in my bag”…

“Kathy, I’m lost,” I said, though I knew she was sleeping
I’m empty and aching and I don’t know why
Counting the cars on the New Jersey Turnpike
They’ve all gone to look for America.”

The imagery is so clear… The lyrics so powerful… The song so beautiful.  No wonder it will pop into my head from time to time… The sign and sound of a true masterpiece… a lingering and lasting impression…

It makes me want to rent that Winnebago and pull a Lost In America… well, without all the angst and chaos… Just the joy of looking for America, for she is a little bit lost to me now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

