Another Blast From The Past Day – Marillion And My Misplaced Childhood

Today’s blog goes out to Danielle L.

This was actually the album I was going to do yesterday, but then I saw Loverboy and the rest was history!

Marillion was formed in 1979 and have put out sixteen albums “generally regarded in two distinct eras, delineated by the departure of original vocalist and frontman Fish in late 1988, and the subsequent arrival of replacement Steve Hogarth in early 1989.”

Marillion –  Misplaced Childhood

This 1985 release is the band’s third album and is an “elaborate conceptual album” filled with “song cycles of lost youth, first love, drug abuse, drink, prostitution and, ultimately, rebirth and redemption, all inspired by Fish’s life experiences.”

“Kayleigh” was the hit that launched this record and brought the band quite a lot of fame, but a mere two years later, Fish would leave the band…

“By 1987 we were over-playing live because the manager was on 20 per cent of the gross. He was making a fantastic amount of money while we were working our asses off. Then I found a bit of paper proposing an American tour. At the end of the day the band would have needed a £14,000 loan from EMI as tour support to do it. That was when I knew that, if I stayed with the band, I’d probably end up a raging alcoholic and be found overdosed and dying in a big house in Oxford with Irish wolfhounds at the bottom of my bed.”

Harsh…

They definitely fall into the Prog Rock category for their first half, evidenced  by AllMusic’s list of bands with a similar feel… Peter Gabriel, ELP, The Moody Blues and Yes.  They also mention Kansas, Styx and Supertramp, but this is for their later incarnation, especially given that Hogarth was considered a New Wave guy.

I remember getting into this album in college and thinking I was super cool, as it was so different from most things I was listening to.

The sort of gothic synthesizer on “Pseudo Silk Komono”

“Kayleigh” is my favorite song for sure…

“Do you remember chalk hearts melting on a playground wall
Do you remember dawn escapes from moon washed college halls
Do you remember the cherry blossom in the market square
Do you remember I thought it was confetti in our hair”

“Lavender” is my other favorite and reminds me a lot of Yes and also the individual members of that band…

“Bitter Suite” has some intense lyrics and ideas behind it… but now knowing the piece is largely autobiographical makes a lot more sense… I did not know that.

This is a big and brash album and one that is so good to hear again.  Thanks for the reminder, Danielle!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

