Blast From The Past Day – Loverboy’s Classics… Yes, I Said Loverboy!

Okay, before I start I need to shame myself by saying I completely forgot to mention a few festivals on my Wish List…

SXSW… a MUST OF COURSE… DUH… I was just talking about that, too… and  the Newport Jazz Fest… and of course, anything in Monterey.

Good.  I feel better and can move on… Although for today, I am actually moving back a bit.

I am a child of the ’80s.  No doubt.  Tommy Tutone’s “867-5309 / Jenny” remains one of my most cherished and favorite songs ever.

My high school buddy Sean had a sister named Jen and we always used to sing this song to him.  He did not particularly like that, nor the fact that we all had the biggest crush on her… EVER!  Don’t even get me started.

Loverboy – Classics

I got into Loverboy when I was in high school, but I will never forget being in shop at Northwestern (we had to work, building sets as theatre majors) and “When It’s Over” came on the stereo.  I had just gotten dumped by someone and this song hurt… I mean it really, really hurt.  Sigh…

I think I told you that I got dumped on the public phone in my frat house as Genesis’ “Throwing It All Away” was playing on the stereo.  That was… awkward… and pretty much my luck with the girls back then…

(In an old man voice) If I had only known then what I know now… watch out!

So come on, this was a fun band.  And look, they are Canadian!!!  They formed in 1979 in Calgary, Alberta and are currently based in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Their live debut was opening for Kiss… and they would go on to open for other huge acts like Cheap Trick, Kansas, Journey and Def Leppard.  So says Wikipedia.

Their debut album did well, but it was their second album, 1981’s Get Lucky, that skyrocketed.  I remember a few people used to tell me that they thought I looked like lead singer Mike Reno.  I’ll take it… especially if that is his butt in the pink leather pants on the cover…

What?  I meant I would like to have a nice Rock n’ Roll butt.  I don’t… I was and will never be Rock n’ Roll skinny.

Lots and lots of great songs here.  Easy cynics… just enjoy!

“Turn Me Loose”, “Working For The Weekend”, “The Kid Is Hot Tonite”, “Lovin’ Every Minute Of It”, the duet Mike did with Ann Wilson of Heart, “Almost Paradise”, and the somewhat cheesy ballad… okay, very Cheddar “Heaven In Your Eyes.”  Yes… I know… Top Gun, schmop gun… Come on.

Hey, it may be Wednesday, but we’re always working for the weekend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

