Southern Rock Saturday – .38 Special And The Very Best Of The A&M Years

Apparently the 1989 ballad “Second Chance” was the band’s biggest hit.

I literally had no idea they sang this song… Seriously.  I feel like an idiot, and maybe was really busy in 1989, but I thought this was someone else… Duh!

So…

.38 Special – The Very Best Of The A&M Years

Donnie Van Zant was the leader of the band.  His brother Ronnie Van Zant was the leader of Lynyrd Skynyrd and died in the tragic 1977 plane crash that also killed band members Steve and Cassie Gaines, assistant road manager Dean Kilpatrick, pilot Walter McCreary, and co-pilot William Gray.

I remember that vividly… although not nearly as much as the plane crash that killed my favorite NY Yankee, Thurman Munson… That news literally broke my heart.

Lots of crazy stories about how Ronnie said he would never make it to 30… He just somehow knew… Sad… And sure enough he was 29 when the bird went down.

Check out the beautiful and haunting tribute song Charlie Daniels wrote back in the day… “Reflections” off the Million Miles Reflections.

Their younger brother Johnny is now lead singer of Lynyrd Skynyrd, having taken over in 1987.

So .38 Special started off with “straight-ahead Southern boogie” before changing its sound “to fall halfway between country-fried blues-rock and driving, arena-ready hard rock.”  I loved that description from AllMusic.

I will admit that I do not go deep with this band… But I love their greatest hits…

“Rockin’ Into The Night”, “Caught Up In You”, “Wild-Eyed Southern Boys”, “Stone Cold Believer”, “Teacher, Teacher” and one of my very favorite songs… “Hold On Loosely”.  Man I love rocking out to this one!

The band did not really make it out of the ’90s… but so what… They still rock me… Southern Rock me!

Happy Passover.  Happy Easter!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

