Happy Passover, Happy Easter – It’s Always A Good Friday With Fleetwood Mac And Tusk

I’ll send this one out to Tati!

It was my 12th or 13th birthday and I remember receiving two albums from my friend Linda GBorn To Run and Tusk.

I was enamored of both, but physically, there was something quite novel about a double-album.  In fact, this may have been my first one… I am pretty sure it was.

Back in the day I would lie on my floor, crank up my Denon receiver (that’s hip talk for turning it on), fire up my huge Boston Acoustic speakers (ditto) and open the dark, clear top to my turntable… brand name is escaping me…

Down went the platter and out came…

Fleetwood Mac – Tusk

I loved this record… I love this record.  I mean I really LOVE this record.

I never used to read reviews… or put that much faith in them.  I liked what I liked… and I still do.

I mean I read Rolling Stone as a kid, but I would not buy something (or not buy it) because of a review.  For me, my friends were a far better barometer of what I might like or not like.

This record grabbed me from the moment I first heard it… It has not let up years and years later.  That says a lot.

What’s funny is that when I do this blog, I always try to do some fast and furious research… just to get some interesting information, background history, quotes, and yes, reviews.  A lot of the time I am seeing things for the first time… hearing great stories that I have never heard before…

Like I said, when I was younger it was about the music and nothing else.  I try to keep it on that level still, but it is fascinating to be able to put something into context… and I love the historical discovery as much as I love the discovery of new music.

It’s like I also say, a painting like Picasso’s Guernica is powerful on its own, but understanding the history and context that helped shape and create it, makes the painting that much more powerful.

According to AllMusic (clearly one of my favorite sources)… “More than any other Fleetwood Mac album, Tusk is born of a particular time and place — it could only have been created in the aftermath of Rumours, which shattered sales records, which in turn gave the group a blank check for its next album. But if they were falling apart during the making of Rumours, they were officially broken and shattered during the making of Tusk, and that disconnect between band members resulted in a sprawling, incoherent, and utterly brilliant 20-track double album.”

Incoherent… really… Hmmm… I can see and hear a separation… but to me these songs, at least some of them, hit me like lasers.

AllMusic continues… “This is the ultimate cocaine album — it’s mellow for long stretches, and then bursts wide open in manic, frantic explosions, such as the mounting tension on “The Ledge” or the rampaging “That’s Enough for Me,” or the marching band-driven paranoia of the title track…”

And “Tusk is a bracing, weirdly affecting work that may not be as universal or immediate as Rumours, but is every bit as classic. As a piece of pop art, it’s peerless.”

Yes, I could do without the USC Marching Band… Okay, I actually like them and love see them doing “Tusk” live… and my hatred of USC is only recent… Well, as of the 1996 Rose Bowl game when I was hassled by drunk, obnoxious fans as I was actually urinating in the bathroom.

But the songs on this record… “Over And Over”, “Think About Me”, “Sara”

“In the sea of love where everyone would love to drown…” Come on!!!  Crazy good!

“What Makes You Think You’re The One”, “That’s All For Everyone”… and I even love the oddball and off-kilter “Not That Funny.”

Beautiful Child” hits me so hard every time I hear it.

This album is simply amazing… chaotic, perhaps… but amazing.

Have a phenomenal holiday, whatever you celebrate… just remember to celebrate!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

