Here’s To More Humping On Hump Day – Get Lifted With John Legend

Back in October I did a series of playlists called Music To Make Love To… Hell, one of my playlists on Spotify is called Foreplay With A Stereo, so you know where my mind is often at… Often!

Today is no exception.  Spring is in the air… The day is perfect and I have a great Rock show on the docket for tonight.  Woo hoo.

There is more of a story to this record, but that is for another time… say after I have downed a bottle of Scotch!

In the meantime I give you the straightforward approach and…

John Legend – Get Lifted

The first time I really heard this was in a car ride back from Vegas like four or five years ago… And yes, what happens in Vegas…

Easy… I was driving home with my good buddy, Andre.

I have always liked John Legend.  He seems like a real class act and is obviously a major talent.  Okay, so he changed his name to something a little… boastful… but the man delivers.  According to Wikipedia, it was a nickname that was given to him by the poet J. Ivy.

Okay… I’ll give him that.  He is amazing.

He was born John Roger Stephens and really came to fame for his collaborations and backing vocals with Alicia KeysKanye West, Jay-Z and Lauryn Hill, to name a few of the folks he has recorded and performed with.

He is an Ivy Leaguer… graduating from Penn… and while working as a consultant for a business firm began working on his demo.  Fellow Penn alum (and Wharton grad) and Legend’s roommate, producer and writer Devo Springsteen hooked him up with Kanye after both had moved to New York… Boom!

We are talking some smart men here!!!

One of my favorite tracks (“Number One”) features Kanye West… “I Can Change” with Snoop Dogg is another great song.

But of course the stand out on this record is Legend’s incredible voice and modern take on the soulful, R&B sounds.  This is some really good and sexy stuff.

My favorite songs are “Alright”“Let’s Get Lifted”, “Ordinary People” and “She Doesn’t Have To Know.”

If this 2004 record does not get you in the bedroom or keep you there, I don’t know… The whole thing is fantastic.

So don’t say I never helped you out… I have just given you license to hump on hump day… and for that… you are welcome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

