Sunday Morning Music – Sometimes You Just Have To Have A Little Blind Faith… And Maybe A Mimosa

I like to think that I have a pretty good voice… Don’t worry, I am not going to lie on the application and try out for American Idol… or run away and start a band… I said good, not great… and not trained since college…

But here I was walking the dog and “Can’t Find My Way Home” popped into my head… and I started singing it… out loud.  Now, aside from the psychological analysis you are now letting run rampant in your brain, like… why did THAT song pop in your head, Marc… what does THAT mean… and why are you singing out loud while you walk the dog, Marc… I think I sounded pretty good.  My voice is still a bit deep and stretched from the cold, so I had a nice ragged quality going.  I have no idea what it might have sounded like to others, or what Steven Tyler would have said about it… but I was digging on it.

Blind Faith – Blind Faith

One album… that’s it.  That’s all we got from the boys… one and done.

Six songs… that’s it, too, but they clock in at about 42 minutes… Sorry, that is a guesstimate, but pretty close.

I don’t have the remastered version with the two bonus tracks… and I definitely don’t have the 2-Disc Deluxe Edition with the five extra tracks and the bonus jams.  I see it… I see it staring at me on Amazon!

But I have the original release… with the somewhat naughty and definitely controversial album cover…

You know, buying a CD nowadays… DVD or BluRay, too… is almost like buying technology.  It is obsolete the moment you open it… There is always something bigger and better in the pipe.

Oh well…

In the case of Blind Faith, musical dysfunction and musical differences led to musical chairs and musical genius.  Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker were fighting, so Cream melted.  Steve Winwood left the Spencer Davis Group to form Traffic, but they were temporarily broken up.  And although Eric Clapton was overwhelmed by being in the “supergroup” Cream, he found himself in another one again.  Oops.

In January of 1969 Eric Clapton, Ginger Baker, Steve Winwood and Ric Grech put together a blues/rock band.  In August of 1969 they put out a blues/rock record.  In October of 1969 they had a blues/rock break up.  Short and sweet.

Well, maybe not that sweet… It sounds like the tour was utter chaos.

What is somewhat ironic is how Clapton desired a move out of the spotlight after BF, yet formed another “supergroup” in 1970… Yes, that little band called Derek and the Dominos.

AllMusic says the two “classics” are “Presence Of The Lord” and “Sea Of Joy”.  I wonder if Stephen Schwartz was inspired by the first one for Godspell.  Just a thought… There is something familiar there.  I dig on both of those songs, and I do love “Had To Cry Today”, especially the opening… and “Well All Right”, too.  The jams on most of the songs are amazing… But for me… obviously, “Can’t Find My Way Home” is the gem and a song I would put high up on my favorite list.

It’s funny… I sing it, as you are now aware… and I know all the words… but the way they are structured is… a bit odd.  Oh well, such is the mad poetry of Rock n’  Roll.

“Come down off your throne
and leave your body alone.
Somebody must change.
You are the reason
I’ve been waiting so long.
Somebody holds the key.
But I’m near the end and
I just ain’t got the time
And I’m wasted and
I can’t find my way home.

Come down on your own
and leave your body alone.
Somebody must change.
You are the reason
I’ve been waiting all these years.
Somebody holds the key.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

