Bonus Post: I Guess Before Hump Day, Comes Fat Tuesday – The Music Of New Orleans

Well, today is Wednesday, which means I forgot to post this yesterday on Fat Tuesday.  Sometimes my brain is on permanent Mardi Gras time…

Here it is anyway… Just a list to enjoy and get you in the mood.

Since I did not do an artist or band from New Orleans today… I decided to honor Fat Tuesday by adding a bonus post in case some of you needed a little Po Boy flair… a little gumbo, if you will…

So feel free to add to the list, and tell me what gets your spices going… but here are some musicians and bands that seem indelibly identified with the city of New Orleans.

While I have no desire to go down for Mardi Gras, I have never been to N’awlins (which I hear is NOT the way to pronounce it…  I think New Aw Lins is right)… I SOOOOOO want to go down for the New Orleans Jazz Fest.  Hint, hint…

Aaron Neville and the Neville Brothers

Allen Toussaint

Branford Marsalis

Buckwheat Zydeco

Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown

Dr. John

Fats Domino

Hank Williams, Jr. – I’ll put him here, despite his recent antics…

Harry Connick, Jr.

Irma Thomas

Jelly Roll Morton

Jerry Lee Lewis

Joe “King” Oliver

Keb Mo

Leadbelly

Lil Wayne

Louis Armstrong

Louis Prima

Mahalia Jackson

Preservation Hall Jazz Band

Professor Longhair

Sidney Bechet

Wynton Marsalis

Update Alert!!!

Additions from Karen (Thanks, K):

Tab Benoit

Dirty Dozen Brass Band

Funky Meters
Diana Krall
Ellis Marsalis
Kermit Ruffins
Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

