My Favorite Color Runs Deep – Deep Purple, Machine Head And Classic Rock

It’s two for Tuesday… Well, two-fer-Tuesday on most classic rock stations… Here, it is just a classic rock day and a need for some loud music.

Deep Purple – Machine Head

As far as I knew, Deep Purple had one hit… “Smoke On The Water”.  I loved that song… One of the most famous riffs ever!  I am sure I learned that iconic riff on guitar, too… but that was as far as I took it.

I was not a heavy rocker in my youth… I know, I know… I’m almost ashamed to say it, but it was not what I was listening to or really exposed to.

Well, I know I heard them on WPLJ.  I know they were all over New York radio, but my group of friends were busy with ’80s New Wave.  If I had to pick a genre that most closely defines my youth, that would be it.  I am not ashamed.  I loved my Steve Miller and Cheap Trick and Bruce.  I was a child of classic rock.  But man… Men at Work, The Cars, Squeeze, Simple Minds… Those just conjure up so many specifics… so many memories.

It was only as I got older that I learned to appreciate the heavy metal and hard rock… I keep telling you, I am a man on an almost backwards time-space continuum.

I remember being in Scotland for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and meeting Ian Paice’s daughter… I cannot recall her name… Wow, my memory sucks… She said that her Dad was the drummer for Deep Purple, so who else could it be?

As I started exploring Deep Purple I learned a lot of things… First off, I knew more songs than just Smoke…

“Highway Star” is of course a classic and Rock n’ Roll staple.  As is “Space Truckin'”.

This is one truly influential band.  They are “among the pioneers of heavy metal and modern hard rock”, along with a couple of little bands like Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath.  Selling 100 million albums and once holding the Guinness World Record for being the loudest band ain’t bad… Ain’t bad at all.

AllMusic says: “Led Zeppelin’s fourth album, Black Sabbath’s Paranoid, and Deep Purple’s Machine Head have stood the test of time as the Holy Trinity of English hard rock and heavy metal, serving as the fundamental blueprints followed by virtually every heavy rock & roll band since the early ’70s.”

Another, somewhat dubious honor perhaps, is the careers the band launched, as members came in and out in an almost dizzying fashion… Ritchie Blackmore (Rainbow)David Coverdale (Whitesnake, Coverdale and Page)… Hell, even Joe Satriani played with them for a year.

The most important thing is of course, the music!  I realized how much I loved heavy metal and hard rock and how much I had actually missed when I was younger…

Yes, it is true ladies and gentlemen… I did NOT sow my musical seeds when I should have… So watch out, ’cause I am on a Rock n’ Roll planting spree!

Your kids and spouse might think you are crazy… desperately clinging to youth… or lost youth… but sometimes you just have to crank it up and play it LOUD.

“Pictures of Home” is actually my favorite song on this record… Just slightly ahead of the 7-plus minute opus “Lazy”.  I’m a sucker for harmonica and that Southern Rock/Bluesy  sound and I really, really love this track!  Okay, maybe it is more of a toss-up between these two.  Hmmm…

This is one of those rare albums that is perfect from start to finish… Short, sweet and oh so to the point.

So join me, won’t you… and put this one up to 11!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

