A Most Lovely Battle With The Civil Wars And Barton Hollow

Okay, the real Civil War was hardly lovely, but this is a band… and their music is lovely.

They come to us courtesy of a recommendation from my friend Tatiana!

I reached out for some suggestions, knowing that there are less than 50 albums to go on this year-long project… That is right… album #365 is just around the corner… So send me your thoughts and album choices soon.

The Civil Wars – Barton Hollow

As soon as I head this one, The Swell Season popped into my head.  Yes, I suppose that is an easy comparison, given that it is a guy and a girl, but they have a similar sound and style, too.  I just noticed that the fabulous film Once is going to be a Broadway musical… Hmmm…

I had not heard of them at all, so thanks Tati…

They are a ” folk-pop duo made up of guitarist John Paul White and vocalist Joy Williams.”

Looks like John composed some soundtracks and wrote a bunch of songs for groups like Rascal Flatts and Meat Loaf before meeting up with Joy.

Joy’s voice also reminds me a little of Allison Krauss… there is that similar Americana, folk song feel… but their harmonies are definitely similar to the interaction of Glen Hansard and Marketa Iroglova from The Swell Season… just a beautiful blend and mix.

I am really enjoying the whole thing, but the I particularly love “Poison & Wine”, the stunning instrumental “The Violet Hour” (so cinematic in its sound… I can totally hear this in a ton of films…) and the bonus track “Dance Me To The End Of The Love”.

If you would like to read more about them check out this article from the Nashville Scene… and their website, where you can get free music!  I mean the whole, live album Live at Eddie’s Attic!

So you if your Wednesday needs a little happy hump, I think you will really dig on this one!

I love discovering new things… so props and thanks to Tatiana!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

