Sunday Night And All Is Well – The Sound And Thin Lizzy Pull A Jailbreak

I love long weekends… it just makes Sundays that much better and so much more relaxed.

The Album Sides weekend on The Sound is rocking… My Giants pulled off a masterful victory over the Packers and although it is late, I am rocking out… Sorry East Coasters, you may be asleep for this one…

I know some folks hate Fade Outs… maybe even more than they hate The Eagles… STILL don’t get the vitriol against those guys… Well, maybe a little… but I just love hearing a tune slowly fade to silence… There is something comforting about it.

I especially love a song go out and getting a little of that crackle and hiss before the next song kicks in.  Mmm!

Thin Lizzy – Jailbreak

So this is a first… I am listening to Side One on The Sound and will then be moving onto Side Two on Spotify.  I was going to do something else, but I was streaming 100.3, and I could not stop listening.

It’s funny… but just listening to this album side made me remember how much I loved this band.  On January 24, 2011, this one got quite a remake.  Well… it has a second disc of bonus tracks, but for some strange reason the first disc is not the most recent remasters.  It is the original album with the remaster that was done in 1996.

According to the info. on Wikipedia, “New remasters were made, but scrapped at the last-minute before the release, for reasons unknown.”

How can you not absolutely dig the chunky title track “Jailbreak”???  Hearing that just made me smile.  70’s Rock n’ Roll, baby!!!

“Angel From The Coast”, “Running Back”

Aside from the hits, I really love the funky groove opening and wailing guitars of “Romeo And The Lonely Girl”.  It’s easily one of my favorites.

“For all his good looks, there were scars that he took

And a lesson to be learned

Never judge lovers by good-looking covers

The lover might be spurned.”

“Warriors” just ended.  Side Two away we go…

So the year is 1976… this album comes out… and the classic track “The Boys Are Back In Town” becomes a huge hit.  It’s playing right now.  Classic!

“Friday night they’ll be dressed to kill

Down at Dino’s bar and grill

The drink will flow

And blood will spill

And if the boys want to fight, you better let ’em…”

The band themselves would never be as huge.  They should have been… but regardless this album is so damn good and so much fun.  All of their influences come in loud and clear… Springsteen, Bob Seger and Van Morrison.  Little Feat and Bob Dylan are also mentioned as having a musical impact on Lynott and the band.

The band was formed in Dublin in 1969.  Long live Irish Rock!

Sadly Phil Lynott passed away in 1986.  The band without him was… well.. not really the band.

I love AllMusic’s description of him:  “As a black man, Lynott was an anomaly in the nearly all-white world of hard rock, and as such imbued much of his work with a sense of alienation; he was the outsider, the romantic guy from the other side of the tracks, a self-styled poet of the lovelorn and downtrodden.”

That explains his fascination with The Boss!

I also dig the initially quiet, but Rock building “Cowboy Song”.  Are we sure they were not secretly a Southern rock band???  South Ireland, perhaps?

Thanks to The Sound for playing this one… “Roll me over and turn me around”, baby!  I love me some Rock n’ Roll!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

