Oh, Yeah You Heard Me Right… Paul Williams’ Someday Man

Don’t balk on this one.  Seriously.

There is some really good stuff.

I remember Paul Williams from episodes of The Love Boat… To me he was some kind of ’70s celebrity who kept showing up on shows like this and The Muppet Show and in the movie Smokey and the Bandit.

I remember he wrote the music for the great and fond memory of a movie called Bugsy Malone.

I remember he seemed kind of short.

It was not until much later that I discovered how truly amazing and prolific a writer he actually is.

Paul Williams wrote the theme for The Love Boat… and The Muppet Show.  He wrote the scores for A Star is Born, One on One (first time I saw Robby Benson and what a crush I had on Annette O’Toole!) and The End (a gem of a film with Burt Reynolds and Dom DeLuise.)

He wrote “Evergreen” and “We’ve Only Just Begun” and “The Rainbow Connection” for heaven’s sake.  And “Fill Your Heart”, his collaboration with Biff Rose was covered by Tiny Tim and then David Bowie on Hunky Dory!

Paul Williams – Someday Man

This album would be called soft rock or even soft pop… but there is something about it I just love.  It totally captures that ’70s sound and feel, and is just a nice, easy, joy to listen to.

Williams auditioned for The Monkees but obviously did not get it… However, the band covered the great title track “Someday Man”.  I think I actually prefer the version here.

Most sources say that this one is obscure even for Paul Williams’ fans, but again… I quite like it.  It is one of those albums that just makes me feel good… I cannot put my finger on it exactly, it just hits me in the right way.

AllMusic says: “The arrangements are at least as close to Burt Bacharach as early-’70s California mellow rock, though none of the songs are as memorable as the hit interpretations of other Williams material that would soon climb the charts for the Carpenters and others.”

The orchestrations definitely scream this period.  The first time I heard it, Harry Nilsson immediately came to mind… I think this is the best comparison… but I agree with AllMusic’s list which brings in Andrew Gold, John Denver and Art Garfunkel… his Breakaway would be a nice bookend to this one.  Just finished with Paul and now I’m hooked on Art… Guess I’m in a mellow mood!!!

This music just takes me somewhere… I guess that’s what it’s supposed to do.  I am loving this trip and hope you do, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

