A Little First Night Music – Rocking the Chanukah Bush with The Boss – Live at Hammersmith Odeon, London ’75

Don’t think I wasn’t tempted to pull out the Sondheim… I was.  I am a full on metro sexual… Heck, on paper I might even be gay… Except for the fact that I love women… That one little issue always gets in the way.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

I love good food and wine… I love cooking… I love dressing well, but don’t have the means or the waist line.  Yet… On both!  And I looooove Broadway musicals.  Sue me, sue me, what can you do me…

I’ll get to Sondheim before this adventure is through.  Have to… Love that man!  But for tonight, as I sit here cleaning the house… HELL… and the girls are off to the theatre… Wicked!  No, I’m not from Boston, that is what they are seeing… Wicked… Bruce is getting me through.  It’s just me and the pooch… and all she wants to do is play… and play… and play… and…

As much as Adam Sandler and I would love to claim that Bruce is Jewish… sadly, he is not.  We could use a little help these days… Things are rough out there.  A lot of anti-Semitism… more than I have ever noticed.  A lot of misinformation and misguided ideas, and saddest of all, a lot of self-hating and ignorantly apologetic folks, too… but I leave all that for my political blog.  This is about the music.

Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band – Hammersmith Odeon, London ’75

This gem captures a great live Bruce… I mean all of the live records he put out capture that, but this one has an amazing magic to it.  I am in love with this record.  And I am still deeply affected by Clarence’s passing… Any sound of a sax or a mention of the Big Man and I am done.  When will this wound heal?  When can I trade in these wings on some wheels?

Hammersmith Odeon London ’75 is both a concert video and the fourth live album by Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band, released in 2006 (see 2006 in music). It is a full-length recording of their performance on 18 November 1975 at the Hammersmith Odeon in London, during their Born to Run tours. It was first released as a DVD on November 14, 2005 as part of the Born to Run 30th Anniversary Edition package, and then several months later on February 28, 2006 released as an audio CD.”

It was the first time Bruce and the boys toured Europe… and I would venture to say, Europe would never be the same…

We open with “Thunder Road” and that just sets the tone of all the bliss to come.  I really need to break out my harps and play along with that one.  Mmm mmm good!

When the Big Man joins the band on “Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out” I am gone… tears and heartbreak mix with the joy and absolute bliss of the music.

Check out “Born to Run” here… but get the DVD, too… or if you do not have the remarkable Born to Run 30th Anniversary Edition I would get that for sure.

I wish you all a Happy Chanukah, Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas and Kwanzaa and of course a happy, healthy New Year…

Check back tomorrow for the first of three, year-end bonus posts!  Peace!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

