No Sleeping In – Sound The Alarm

I guess I should set my alarm earlier and this way some of these blogs will not be so late… Sorry… Just typical, end of the year craziness… Too much to do and not nearly enough time to do it all… AAGGHH!

But here is that ringing… and whereas I would normally reach over and snooze that alarm, this time I am up and ready.

Of course I knew The Alarm… I’m a child of the ’80s… But to be honest, I really have not listened to them in a long time.

When we were driving up to Santa Barbara, I think, SRM asked if they had made the blog.   When I said they had not yet made it, he told me I should go back and listen.  No one messes with SRM.  When he tells you to listen, you listen… and so… I did.

The Alarm – The Best of the Alarm

Comparisons to U2 would be the first thing that comes to my mind as well.

AllMusic also mentions Big Country, and The Waterboys as similar bands “who dealt in soaring anthems inspired by the righteous idealism of punk.”  You know I love me some Waterboys… and of course, and somewhat ironically, Mike Peters (lead singer)  is now singing that role for Big Country.  He started touring and performing with them in 2010.  That’s another great band… Big Country is… but with a sad and all too typical tragedy as Stuart Adamson (Vocals, keys and guitar) killed himself in 2001.

AllMusic continues… “Clearly influenced by the impassioned political fervor of The Clash, The Alarm also worked in a mostly acoustic, folk-punk vein that provided a counterpoint to their hard-driving guitar rockers.  Their stage look was unquestionably a product of the ’80s, with enormous spiked-up hair accompanying a cowboy/old-time cavalry wardrobe. Yet the numerous comparisons to U2 in the press were not unfounded; despite a more conservative sonic palette, The Alarm had much the same earnest intensity, the same messianic ambitions, even the same vague spirituality. Likewise, The Alarm seemed to covet a mainstream breakthrough in the vein of The Joshua Tree’s conquest of the pop charts, and polished up their sound accordingly, with mixed creative results. The British music press habitually savaged their records as derivative and pretentious, but this meant little to their zealous following who supported the band to the tune of over 5 million sales worldwide and 16 Top 50 UK singles.”

Clearly they were not U2… are not U2… but then again, how many bands can achieve such massive success along with true, musical genius… That is catching lightning in a bottle while winning the lottery.

The Alarm are a fun and energetic band and songs like “Rain in the Summertime”“Strength” and probably most with “Sold Me Down the River” were definitely anthems of my youth.  Love those songs especially and I have to say, going back to listen to this record was a lot of fun.  Thanks, SRM!!!

As for you all… Sound the alarm!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

