When Black Friday Comes, I’ll Be Listening to Steely Dan’s Katy Lied

Like I had a choice in the matter… This song and album called to me… Literally… The CD started whispering early this morning…

“Stay away from Best Buy, Marc… listen to me… listen to me…”

Steely Dan – Katy Lied

I just checked my list to make sure I had not done this album before and what did I discover???  Somehow and some way, this is the first Steely Dan album to make the blog… How is that possible???  They are one of my all-time favorite bands. This confounds me… CONFOUNDS ME!

Well, here we are…

A college friend and frat brother claimed that each and every Steely Dan song had a drug reference in it.  I have not gone through all of them, but I suppose I could see that.  It does seem to be one of their “themes.”

According to Wikipedia, Chevy Chase played drums in one of Donald Fagen and Walter Becker’s early bands… odd.

Perhaps more famously known… “Fagen and Becker named the band after “Steely Dan III from Yokohama”, a strap-on dildo referred to in the William S. Burroughs novel Naked Lunch.”  Nice… I always loved that little bit of trivia.

So many of their albums are amongst my favorites and most listened to… If I had to pick my top one… It would be between this, Pretzel Logic and probably The Royal Scam… but man, that is not an easy task…

Their music is so rich and complex and an amalgam of rock, pop, funk and jazz… and their sound is completely unique.  Strangely Fagen and Becker thought this album was flawed because of a recording issue.  “They were not happy with the album’s sound quality due to an equipment malfunction with the then new dbx noise reduction system.”   As such they refused to listen to the completed album… I do not know if that means ever, but hmmm…

On this record, their fourth, the amazing line up includes Michael McDonald, Hugh McCracken, Rick Derringer, jazz fusion legend Larry Carlton and the late but always great drummer, Jeff Porcaro.  Man he was amazing… and his range from this to Toto blows me away.  We have to give him a few more props here, for he played with Michael Jackson, Pink Floyd, Don Henley, and The Boss!  Sadly he died at the way too young age of 38… either from a heart attack and hardened arteries from cocaine as the coroner reported… or from the insecticide he was supposedly spraying the very day he died… Either way, that was a tragic loss.

In relation to The Dan, musicians would come and go, but they always had the best.

This one is so solid from start to finish… from “Black Friday” to “Throw Back The Little Ones”… this just makes me realize how much I LOVE listening to The Dan.

So go out, trample some old folks and get in on those sales… or stay home and listen to this!  Your call.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

