You Can Get Anything You Want – Dream Big, Live Large and Eat at Alice’s Restaurant (Thank You, Arlo Guthire!)

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday.  I love the smell of a turkey roasting in the oven, filling the house with such glorious aromas… I love classic sage stuffing and homemade gravy.  I love just hanging with family, watching football and just being.

I miss not being home in New Jersey.  It may be my favorite time of year to be back East.  Sigh.

But I am still thankful for my family… my wife and daughter… my parents and brother Dan and his whole family (Natalia, Ava and Lila and Rosie), my 99-year-old Grandma… my aunts and uncles… my cousins (I have great cousins)… my in-laws… my little bundle of doggie love and of course my friends, new and old.  Thanks again to Shari and Sam for giving us the most perfect dog in the world, who is cuddled up right next to me as we both listen to this and write… Well, she is not writing…

This one also goes out to all my new friends at The Sound, especially Beverly who so loves this song and album!

In its ideal form, Thanksgiving should be a time for just that… to stop, slow down and give thanks for all the wonders in the world and in our lives. There is so much joy and bliss around us.  We just to need to take a little more time to stop and smell the turkey… or tofu turkey or veggies.

But sadly Thanksgiving now seems to be nothing more than a stopover holiday.  It gets buried underneath Black Friday and Christmas.  I cannot tell you how many folks we saw putting up their Xmas decorations already.  Really?  Can’t you wait til this weekend?

I love this holiday and I am going to enjoy it.  Thanks to Mitch and Pam and their family for opening their house to us.  I am already hungry, dammit!

Arlo Guthrie – Alice’s Restaurant

I have seen Arlo a couple of times, including that one glorious concert with Pete Seeger I wrote about a few weeks ago.  His dad is, of course, American music legend, Woody Guthrie.

This album came out in 1967 and features his most iconic and famous composition “Alice’s Restaurant Massacree”.  It is a “talking blues song that lasts 18 minutes and 34 seconds in its original recorded version. Guthrie has pointed out that this was also the exact length of one of the famous gaps in Richard Nixon’s Watergate tapes.  He has been known to spin the story out to forty-five minutes in concert. The Alice in the song is Alice Brock, who now runs an art gallery in Provincetown, Massachusetts.”

For many of us, it is a Thanksgiving tradition to hear this song played on one of our favorite radio stations… That and watching the Thanksgiving Day Parade, which I totally missed this morning… actually went to the gym… They both give me such immense pleasure.

I just realized that it has been way too long since I have seen the movie…

Wikipedia continues… “The song lampoons the Vietnam War draft. However, Guthrie stated in a 2009 interview with Ron Bennington that the song is more an “anti-stupidity” song than an anti-war song, adding that it is based on a true incident. In the song, Guthrie is called up for a draft examination, and rejected as unfit for military service as a result of a criminal record consisting in its entirety of a single arrest, court appearance, fine and clean-up order for littering and creating a public nuisance on Thanksgiving Day in 1965, when Arlo was 18 years old. On the DVD commentary for the film, Guthrie states that the events presented in the song all actually happened.”

The album also features another favorite “The Motorcycle Song” and such beauties as “Chilling of the Evening” and “Highway in the Wind”.  Seriously… These songs and this album is gorgeous!!!

Enjoy and Happy Thanksgiving!  Thanks to all of you, for reading this blog and loving music and being my friend.  May we all find our bliss and always have our bellies filled with glorious food and laughter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

