Let It Ride… Let It Bleed… The Rolling Stones Continued

Yeah, I know… these late posted blogs kill my East Coast readers… Sorry… Crazy day… Hopefully you found old posts to enjoy.

I was tempted to jump ship, but am sticking with the Stones… The thought did not arise because I’m tired of the Stones.  Quite the contrary… I have been loving this music.  It’s just that I have been having a field day with new music and new discoveries.  It’s funny how that comes and goes in waves… Right now I am on new music overflow and the stereo has been on overdrive.

My friend Wes introduced me to the late, great Jimmy Silva and I have been listening non-stop… I highly suggest you track down his stuff, which is hard to find and/or pricey… or it might not be by you… He was an amazing singer/songwriter, so go hit your local used CD store.  A tribute album called Through a Faraway Window is a good place to start and much easier to find.

There is also Black Country Communion, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, The Parlor Mob and re-discoveries of The Breau Brummels, The Posies, Sleater-Kinney and a band called Over the Rhine.

So much to listen to and talk about…  Great, great stuff… but let’s get back to other great stuff…

The Rolling Stones – Let It Bleed

Clearly I am not going chronologically like I did with The Beatles… Just going with whatever hits me.  This one came out in December of 1969 and is the 10th American release and the last album with Brian Jones.

It also has several firsts… notably the guitar work of Mick Taylor and Keith’s first solo vocals on “You Got the Silver”.

I did not realize that the day AFTER the album was released was the now infamous Altamont Free Concert.

“Filmmakers Albert and David Maysles shot footage of the event and incorporated it into a documentary film titled Gimme Shelter (1970). The event is best known for having been marred by considerable violence, including one homicide and three accidental deaths: two caused by a hit-and-run car accident and one by drowning in an irrigation canal. Four births were reported during the event as well.  Scores were injured, numerous cars were stolen and then abandoned, and there was extensive property damage.”

Ian Stewart and Ry Cooder are back… and Leon Russell joins the fray on “Live With Me”.  Mick takes over on harmonica on this one.  He’s good.

The album gave up some of the Stones biggest hits… “Gimme Shelter”, “Let It Bleed”, “Midnight Rambler” and of course “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”.

“Country Honk” here is as twangy as they get and of course a fiddled-up version of “Honky Tonk Women”.

Funny, I’m now trying to figure out what my favorite Stones album is… This one is up there for sure… Hmmm… Will save that for tomorrow, perhaps… In the meantime, I need some coke and sympathy!

Let it bleed, baby…

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

