Maybe a Rolling Stones Week… Either Way, Today I’ve Got Sticky Fingers

Back in April this album celebrated its 40th Anniversary… It still rocks from the opening note to the final fade on “Moonlight Mile”.  A crash of cymbals… some strings… Fade Out!  It’s like the perfect ending to a great film.

The Rolling Stones – Sticky Fingers

Up until now I have only talked about Tattoo You, which is a bit odd considering how many times I have seen The Stones live and how much I love their records… But it is what it is, right?  I have no doubt when I get to the end of the year I will look back and let out a big “Doh!” when realizing the gems I missed… Hell, Rolling Stone has 500 greatest albums and I am only doing 365… and a bunch nowhere near their list for sure.  True, I am not limiting myself to just Rock n’ Roll, but  I know there will be things I miss.

Not today.

This record is so good… and yes, even at a young age I did pick up on the innuendo.  Sort of… I’m still a man behind the times…  but it was pretty obvious.  Not right when it came out.  Sheesh!  I’m not that old nor that advanced in the dirty thoughts!!!  I mean later… The original vinyl cover had a working zipper… and at least one of the reissues I have has that, too.  I think I have three CD versions of this one… Oy… The artwork was conceived by Andy Warhol.

Brian Jones is not on this album at all… but it is Mick Taylor’s first full-length appearance and there are some killer cameos like Ry Cooder on slide guitar, Ronnie Lane and Pete Townshend on vocals, Billy Preston on organ and Ian Stewart on piano.

I love the horns and soul sounds on “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking”.  Bobby Keys just rocks the hell out of that sax!  And the horn licks on “Bitch” where Jim Price on trumpet joins in, are classic.  This album has every Stones influence, it would seem… R&B, Soul, Country and of course Blues… “You Gotta Move” is a Mississippi Fred McDowell and Gary Davis classic!

Even though I admitted earlier to having multiple copies, stuff like that dies drive me a bit crazy… and puts me a bit in the poor house… “In 1994 Sticky Fingers was remastered and reissued by Virgin Records, again in 2009 by Universal Music Enterprises, and once more in 2011 by Universal Music Enterprises in a Japanese only SHM-SACD version.”

Whatever version you have, this album is classic Rock n’ Roll all the way, and one of the best ever put out.  “Brown Sugar”, “Sway”, “Wild Horses”,“Sister Morphine” and “Dead Flowers”.  Come on!!!  What a damn good way to start a week and a Monday!  Who know where the week will take us… It could be all Stones!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

