Jersey Boy Boss Week – Bruce Springsteen’s Greetings From Asbury Park, N.J.

The only thing odd about this is that I have already done my favorite Springsteen albums… However, as you well know I can listen to Bruce anywhere and any time.  His cast offs and seconds are better than the songs most folks strive an entire lifetime to write.  Plus. there are still some favorites to discuss…

I would love to hear your opinions on this list.  Keep in mind, there are no Springsteen albums I dislike, but if I had to rank them in order of my favorites, it would be:

Born to Run /  Darkness on the Edge of Town / The River / The Wild, The Innocent & The E Street Shuffle / Greetings From Asbury Park, NJ

Born in the USA / Nebraska / Tracks (18-Song Version or Full Box) / Tunnel of Love / The Promise

The Rising / Lucky Town / We Shall Overcome / Magic / Working on a Dream

The Ghost of Tom Joad / Human Touch / Devils & Dust 

As much as I did not like seeing Bruce on the road with a different band, and I really HATED the band he toured with for the Human Touch and Lucky Town albums, two of my favorite songs came from that period… “With Every Wish” from Human Touch and “If I Should Fall Behind” (A huge wedding song and almost mine!) from Lucky Town.

Bruce Springsteen – Greetings From Asbury Park, N.J.

I have this as album #5, but I think it is interchangeable with numbers 3 or 4… Amazing!  And what a debut!

This one came out in 1973 and sold only 25,000 copies that year.

Manfred Mann’s Earth Band released a version of “Blinded by the Light” on their album The Roaring Silence. The song reached #1 on Billboard’s Hot 100 on 19 February 1977… The Manfred Mann’s Earth Band recording of “Blinded by the Light” is Springsteen’s only #1 single as a songwriter on the Hot 100.”  That is shocking to me…

“In 2003, the album was ranked number 379 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.”

“Growin’ Up” is in my top five Springsteen songs and I am happy to say I have seen it performed live several times.  Still missing “Meeting Across the River” from Born to Run, though… It kills me that I never saw that live, especially with Clarence gone… I don’t think Bruce will ever play that one again.  If Bruce did four shows in town, and I went three out of the four nights… the night I was not there is when he played “Meeting Across the River.”  Seriously.  It happened twice… And yes, Russ, I should have gone all four nights.  )_(*&^%$#$%^&*()_+_)(*&^%!!!

For some odd reason, Bruce does not play whole/full album shows out here.  I am not sure why, as the LA crowds on his last tours have been spectacular.  LA audiences usually are not that good… Sorry, but it is true… They are often reserved… sitting on hands… sitting on phones or talking… That is not us, but I’m just sayin’!

“On November 22, 2009, Greetings from Asbury Park, NJ was played in its entirety for the first time by Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, at the HSBC Arena in Buffalo, New York, to celebrate the last show of the Working on a Dream tour.  This marked the E Street Band’s first-ever performance of “The Angel.”

Marc sighs…

Anyway, we must not live in the past or with regret.  Seeing Bruce live has given me years of pleasure and spiritual uplift, as has this album.  I know you know this one, but go ahead… crank it up real loud and enjoy your Monday… Seriously.  This needs to be played now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

