Music To Make Love To – Soul Sex

So, a few of you noticed that there was a lot of Soul on the first list… Well, this one is ALL SOUL… It’s kind of the perfect love-making music, isn’t it?  Isn’t it???

For all you Rockers… Tomorrow will be ALL ROCK!  Yeah… Heavy Metal Horn, baby!  Work those fingers!

Music to Make Love By – Soul Sex

Thanks to many of you and some fun searching on my own (and also a fortuitous late night infomercial for a certain Time Life collection) this list is quite extensive.  With that said, I did not go from slow to fast or make any attempt to plan out the state of affairs, or the state of your evening with this list.  In other words, no DJ building up to a… crescendo.  I did put them in alphabetical order by track, so they will hopefully be easy for you to find…

There is one token white guy… and If I missed something great, let me know… This is a work in progress… just like… you know…

With these songs, I would say no matter what order you play them in, you should be doing quite well by the end of the night… Or the middle of the night… and hopefully more than once!  So enjoy… Live, listen and love…

Always – Atlantic Star

Baby Come Close – Smokey Robinson

Baby I Need Your Lovin’ – The Four Tops

Be My Baby – The Ronettes

Bedtime – Usher

Being With You – Smokey Robinson

Blue Light ‘Til Dawn – Cassandra Wilson

Can’t Get Enough of Your Love, Babe – Barry White

Close the Door – Teddy Pendergrass

Come Go With Me – Teddy Pendergrass

Come On In My Kitchen – Cassandra Wilson

Cruisin’ – Smokey Robinson

Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time) – The Delfonics

Distant Lover – Marvin Gaye

Do I Ever Cross Your Mind – Ray Charles (w/Bonnie Raitt)

Do What You Do – Jermaine Jackson

Don’t Say Goodnight – The Isley Brothers

Dr. Feelgood (Love is Serious Business) – Aretha Franklin

Everlasting Love – Chaka Kahn

Expressions of Love – Raul Midon

Feeling Good – Nina Simone

Feeling U, Feeling Me – Alicia Keys

Fever – Shirley Horn (Or Peggy Lee)

Get Down Like That – Ne-Yo

Get Here – Oleta Adams

Giving You the Best That I Got – Anita Baker

Here and Now – Luther Vandross

Here I Am (Come and Take Me) – Al Green

I Wanna Be Your Lover – Prince

I’ll Make Love To You – Boyz II Men

I’ll Take You There – The Staple Singers

I’m So Into You – Peabo Bryson

It’s Ecstacy – Barry White

It’s Your Thing – The Isley Brothers

I’ve Been Loving You Too Long – Otis Redding

If Ever You’re In My Arms Again – Peabo Bryson

If I Ain’t Got You – Alicia Keys

(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don’t Want to Be Right – Luther Ingram

If Only For One Night – Luther Vandross

If Only You Knew – Patti LaBelle

If This World Were Mine – Luther Vandross and Mariah Carey

If You Need Me – Solomon Burke

In the Midnight Hour – Wilson Pickett

In the Still of the Night – The Five Satins

Kiss of Life – Sade

Lady Marmalade – Patti LaBelle

Let Me Make Love To You – The O’Jays

Let’s Get It On – Marvin Gaye

Let’s Get Lifted – John Legend

Let’s Stay Together – Al Green

Licking Stick – James Brown

Love Makin’ Music – Barry White

Love to Love You Baby – Donna Summer

Love TKO – Teddy Pendergrass

Lovin’ You – Minnie Ripperton

My Cherie Amour – Stevie Wonder

Natural High – Bloodstone

Nice & Slow – Usher

Night Time Is the Right Time – Ray Charles

Nite and Day – Al B. Sure

Oh Girl –  The Chi-Lites

Ooo Baby Baby – The Miracles

Pillow Talk – Sylvia

Rainy Night in Georgia – Aaron Neville version

Raspberry Beret – Prince & the Revolution

Reasons – Earth, Wine & Fire

Rock Your Body – Justin Timberlake

Say Yes – The Whispers

Sex Machine – James Brown

Sexual Healing – Marvn Gaye

Shining Star – The Manhattans

Since I Had You – Marvin Gaye

Smooth Operator – Sade

So Amazing – Luther Vandross

Something He Can Feel – Aretha Franklin

Soon I’ll Be Loving You Again – Marvin Gaye

Sweet Love – Anita Baker

The Sweetest Taboo – Sade

Teach Me Tonight – Al Jarreau

The Closer I Get To You  – Luther Vandross and Beyonce

Three Times A Lady – Commodores

Through the Fire – Chaka Kahn

Try A Little Tenderness – Otis Redding

Turn Off the Lights – Teddy Pendergrass

Use Me – Bill Withers

(What A) Wonderful World – Sam Cooke

When A Man Loves a Woman – Percy Sledge

You Are My Lady – Freddie Jackson

You Sure Love to Ball – Marvin Gaye

Special thanks to:

Andrea, Andrew, Bobby, Bryana, Cathy, Christopher, Denise D, Denise F, Edna, Gracie, Joyce, Julie, Lori, Michele, Mike, Mimi, Robert, Sarah, Sue, and Tatiana… If I missed you, please let me know.

If you don’t see your songs here, they will definitely be on one of the upcoming lists…


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

