Put Me In Coach, I’m Ready To Play – John Fogerty’s Centerfield

People who love sports but do not love college football astound me.  For the most part, the game is pure and unadulterated… Okay, that is bullshit… For some schools this might be true, but as a whole, the NCAA is a huge corporation and most teams are acting as if they are professional organizations… and with the amount of dollars changing hands, they are… The bigger these conferences get, the worse it will become.

I still love the spirit and the pom poms and the tailgates and the unpredictable aspect of the game… I miss being at school and the fun we had, even when our team was awful, but that is what we expected then… NU sucked.

What I don’t love is the anguish and pain my Northwestern Wildcats put me through week after week, year after year NOW!  They brought us to the heights in 1996, almost winning the Rose Bowl, and thus they made us think we could actually do big things… They made us believers… Doh!

Today was a disgusting display of poor coaching and play calling.  If you have an 18 point lead in the 3rd quarter and lose, you have some issues on your hand… If you let up 21 unanswered points, your defensive coordinator needs to be fired… if you have a corner back who cannot stop a pass, he needs to be benched, not started… Sorry Matthews, I know you are just a kid, but I am calling you, but especially the coaches out.

If you play the second half so conservatively and keep running the same broken play after broken play, then something big needs to be changed.  To say I am disgusted, is an understatement… But I absolve myself of any further emotional investment… I will now expect nothing from this team, so I will either be pleasantly surprised or even keeled.  Sorry… I can give you no more, Cats… you took it out of me the last two games in a row…

So… I need me some goooood music… Really… that and a Scotch!

John Fogerty – Centerfield

I wanted something head banging… Then I opted for good old, country infused, Rock n’ Roll.  The soul of Creedence is alive and well in this 1985 release.  I will never forget being at a Wiggles concert… parents will get that… and having Barry Williams (Greg Brady) and John Fogerty sitting in front of us… Fogerty was called out from the stage!!!  Sweet!!!  (Can’t recall if Barry was… he may have been… sorry, Barry).

This album gives us the hit singles:  “Old Man Down the Road”, “Rock and Roll Girls” and the title track “Centerfield”.  I also love “Big Train (From Memphis)” and “I Saw It On TV.”  Fogerty’s solo career has had its ups and downs, but the man is a national treasure.  The bastard played all the instruments on this classic album.  No, I’m not really a musician… I mean I do play harmonica and jammed with Graham Nash… okay, one song 12 years ago… but heck yeah, I am envious of those who have perfect pitch, speak multiple languages and play multiple instruments… Shoulda, coulda, woulda…

Anyway… me and the other NU alums are flying in to Evanston for next weekend’s game… so put me in coach I’m… nah, never mind… I ain’t ready to play… but the Wildcats better do something different… Today was nasty.

2 Comments

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

2 responses to “Put Me In Coach, I’m Ready To Play – John Fogerty’s Centerfield

  1. Pat O'Connor

    Funny, I never used to care about NW football. Now that I know you however I always check their score on the “sportin’ sheet” (as my Dad used to call the sports page. I see the score and think, That must make Marc happy or Marc must be pissed. I have a similar relationship with the Redskins with a long time friend who also lives and dies for the Rangers because they were the Senators when he was kid and lived in Washington. That’s fan loyalty.

    • marcsmuse

      Yeah, but at some point, when your heart is broken and stomped on, you wonder why you keep cheering… After this past weekend, I need a week off from NU… That was a disgrace and the coaches need to take long looks at themselves and figure out how to fix their errors… and it was THEIR ERRORS for sure…

Leave a Reply

