Zuma…So Close, Yet So Far Away – Rocking and Swimming With Neil Young

I am not really what you would call a beach guy.  For those of you who have seen me, you know I am white… and not just white like in a white guy, but white as in kind of pale… Nothing abnormal or crazy, I just don’t lay out in the sun much and am slightly fair-skinned… I burn easily.

Yet, given that diatribe, I have been to Zuma Beach many times.  It’s right in Malibu and about 25 minutes away.  I have decided I would like the beach more if I had a nice beach house… Duh… This way the sand that gets trapped in odd areas of my body could be quickly and easily washed away in my glorious, outdoor shower… and the parties… oh, the parties I would have…

And… I’m back!

What I find strange is that I have never heard Zuma!

Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Zuma

Mark Luera… Jets fan… guest DJ on The Sound and overall cool guy gave me a great list of albums to listen to, and this was one of them.  I love Neil Young… so how did I miss this album?  Fantastic!!!

It is Neil’s seventh studio album and came out in 1975… That could explain it…  I was still pretty young and had probably not really explored deep roots Rock n’ Roll yet.  In fact, I think I first came to Neil in 1979 with the album and film Rust Never Sleeps.  Why I did not go back and explore more… not sure… I was not that kind of guy back then… Ahhh… if I knew then what I know now… who the hell knows what might have happened!

For my regular readers, you may recall that I am still waiting for Neil to sign my Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young album.  Graham Nash has asked him on my behalf, as well as another friend who knows him, and he has declined both requests… WTF???!!!  I have a similar scenario with a Micky Dolenz playlist that has all the guys’ signatures except Michael Nesmith… Whatever… You rat +_)*&^%$%^&*()_+_)(*!  I kid… sort of…

So… back to Zuma… seven out of the nine songs are with Crazy Horse, but sadly, Danny Whitten was no longer a part of things… He died of a heroin overdose in 1972, the same night Neil had fired him during rehearsals for the Harvest tour.  Neil blamed himself for a long, long time until realizing that “Danny just wasn’t happy…. It just all came down on him. He was engulfed by this drug. That was too bad. Because Danny had a lot to give, boy. He was really good.”

The gorgeous, heartbreaking and oh so moving The Needle and the Damage Done (which is one of my favorite songs period) is about Danny.

This album rocks… folk rocks… country rocks… and even has a discarded Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young tune… the wonderful final track, “Through My Sails” (originally titled “Sailboat Song”).  “It is the only track ever released from an aborted Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young recording session in Hawaii in late 1974 for the as yet unreleased Human Highway album. This would be the last CSNY music released until 1988’s American Dream.

Thanks again to Mark for this one… I cannot stop listening to this gem!!!  So I guess I’m off to Zuma to swim with Neil… or at least the dolphins.

1 Comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

One response to “Zuma…So Close, Yet So Far Away – Rocking and Swimming With Neil Young

  1. Mark Luera

    I was blessed to have 4 older brothers which were ALL rockers.I’ve spent most of my life around Neil & feel like he’s PART of my family! Keep on rocking Marc!
    I know I will!

Leave a Reply

