Pat Benatar Always Takes Her Best Shot

Darn you The Sound 100.3… I was all set to do The Guess Who when Pat Benatar came on the radio and set my mind off in another direction… Okay you crazy rocking Canadians… I’ll come back to you, I promise.  And speaking of a band from Winnipeg, I have to say I fricking LOVE the new Winnipeg Jets logo… No, I am not  switching allegiances, but I may have to pick me up a little somthin’, somethin’!  You know what I’m sayin’?

One of the jobs I have had in the downtime between acting and writing gigs… Yes, sadly there is A LOT of downtime… was working at a wine shop called The Duke of Bourbon.  It was a great place to learn about wine and meet some great people… Jim Clendenen of Au Bon Climat… Bob Long of Long Vineyards… George Rosenthal of Rosenthal – The Malibu Estate… and Pat Benatar and Neil Giraldo.

They are big wine connoisseurs and two of the nicest people you could possibly meet.  They also performed for the Lili Claire Foundation one year… This is the non-profit I am involved with… and totally remembered me after not having seen me for years.  Class act all the way… And oh yeah, AMAZING ROCKERS!

Pat Benatar – Best Shots

Pat was a most integral part of my ’80s.  Hell, she was an integral part of almost anyone listening to Rock n’ Roll in the ’80s.  Her first album, In the Heat of the Night went platinum… So did her next five, with Crimes of Passion hitting five times platinum and Precious Time hitting two times platinum.  Damn!

She shows her amazing range with a release like True Love, one of my favorite blues records!

The only reason I did not pick these individual titles, is that I wanted to show just how many great hits she has!  This is considered the best single disc compilation of hers… there are quite a few… and while it is certainly not complete and is missing a few big tracks, it is a great place to start… or simply a great addition to your Benatar collection.  One major omission is “You Better Run” so I am including the video here… It was the SECOND VIDEO EVER played on MTV!  The two-disc Pat Benatar Collection may be better for the completest, but I think this one will rock you pretty hard and right.

Living near The Canyon Club allows me to see Pat and Neil in a great, intimate setting and they play here a few times each year!  If you do not know this venue, you MUST check it out!

Thank you Pat and Neil for staying so classy, always being so real and genuine and rocking together, and giving us so many great shots to the heart of Rock n’ Roll!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

