All Naked Bonus Post – Marc’s Muse Current Play List (End of Summer 2011)

Sorry… nothing dirty, just a search engine test!

New music discoveries seem to come in waves… literal and metaphorical waves… Sometimes it is a trickle, but other times, like NOW, it is a full onslaught, a frontal assault of huge breaking white caps.

Here is what has been on my play list today already, and in the last few weeks, all brand new discoveries for me…. for the most part… and almost all on my Spotify!

I’ll pick the solo album later.  In the meantime… And in Alphabetical Order…

Beckley/Lamm/Wilson – Like a Brother

Thanks to my friend Pat and his comment on my Beach Boys blog, I went in search of more Carl Wilson-centric tunes.  It lead me to two Beach Boys albums (conveniently on one CD)… Sunflower and Surf’s Up… and this light rock, warm blanket or cool summer night gem.

Diego Garcia – Laura

This is a gorgeous, lush album.  I like his band Elefant, but a review I just read totally dismissed them… They love this solo effort, however, and so do I.  This one is so delicious.

Koop – Koop Islands

My friend Kim turned me onto Koop when we were hanging in Chicago.  I cannot tell you how much I LOVE this electronic/jazz duo from Sweden.  Yukimi Nagano from Little Dragon is a guest vocalist.  I could eat this one… with a spoon.

Little Dragon – Ritual Union

Another Kim selection.  Yukimi Nagano is the lead singer here and also plays percussion in this electronic band from Sweden.  Awesome.

Mariachi El Bronx – Mariachi El Bronx (brand new one) and Mariachi El Bronx (2009)

Okay, a little annoying that ALL their albums so far are eponymous… But other than that… GREAT STUFF!  I literally just heard of these guys today from my chiropractor, although I am going to guess they have been played on KCRW.  I clearly have not been a good listener as of late.  My bad.  But now my good as these guys are fantastic.  The Bronx is an LA punk band with an alter ego… Mariachi El Bronx, which is a mix of pop, rock and of course Mariachi music.  You will really dig this… A LOT!

Phosphorescent – Here’s To Taking It Easy

From the little brother.  I am still listening and feeling my way around here, but so far, so good.  The first track is by far my favorite and is stylistically different from the rest of the album.  It starts out with a Van Morrison, Dr. John horn riff and then just grooves.  The very next song goes into a more mellow Dawes/Bon Iver/Fleet Foxes vibe.  Not a bad thing, just unexpected.

Portugal. The Man – In the Mountain In the Cloud

Is this was a Facebook post, I would look for the Love button… or just go Like, Like, Like…  Dan also suggested checking them out and I am way hooked now.

 Tame Impala – InnerSpeaker

A little electronic… a little dance… a little mood enhancer… a little funk… a whole lot of stuff and a whole lot of fun…

 Three Dog Night

Of course I knew this band… I just did NOT realize how good they were and are, and how it is so worth going beyond the hits.

Toro y Moi

Modern electronic meets the 70s, at least on “New Beat.”  The rest of it runs the gamut.  Good stuff.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

