Never Been to Spain, Never Been to Portugal. The Man

I was at a party the other day when I mentioned that “I’ve never been anywhere.  I’ve never been to Spain.”

Okay, I’ve been to some places but not as many as I’d like, and time keeps on moving so I better start moving, too.

Tom immediately asked me if I had heard of that song, but could not remember who it was… and here I thought I had spontaneously come up with a great song or album title… Wrong…

I jumped on the world-wide web when I got home and the song is called “Never Been to Spain” by Three Dog Night

“Well I’ve never been to Spain.  But I kinda like the music… I’ve never been to England.  But I kinda like The Beatles… I’ve never been to heaven, but I’ve been to Oklahoma.”

Fantastic song from a too often overlooked band.  They are coming up soon as I have been rediscovering them and really enjoying the listens.

Portugal. The Man – In the Mountain In the Cloud

Yes, that punctuation in the band’s name is correct.  My brother was looking into tickets for an Alberta Cross show when he saw this band was opening up.  He checked them out, dug them and told me about them.  I fricking love them and especially their latest CD, which is their major label (Atlantic) debut.  Keep in mind, though, that this is their seventh album!  Half the band is from Alaska, the other half Portland, where they actually formed and are now based out of.  Wikipedia calls them a psychedelic rock band… iTunes an Indie, Alternative band.  I hear all of that and love the mixture.  I also hear some Perry Farrell and Jane’s Addiction, David Bowie and of course, The Beatles, but their sound is quite unique and this album absolutely kicks!

John Gourley sings in that high range, which seems to be very popular now, but I find his voice a lot richer and more interesting than some of the falsettos out there.  iTunes says he has “classic-rock vocals that are liquid gold.”

Looking forward to seeing them on October 1st in LA!!!  So let’s all go to Portugal… and go to see Portugal. The Man!

SIDE NOTE:

Frustrating story from a few weeks ago… “On the 8th of August after their Lollapalooza show, Portugal. The Man’s van and trailer were stolen. The van and trailer contained all of the band’s instruments and performance gear. On August 9th, the van was recovered, but the contents of the trailer were missing. A list of the missing equipment was made available by the band. On August 12th much of the band’s gear was recovered from the home of a man who claimed to have purchased it at a flea market and the band subsequently posted a thank you note on their website saying, “it is more than just a win for PTM, it is also a win for twitter, the world of social media, the Chicago police, and old school journalism.”  The man was charged with one felony count of theft for purchasing the stolen equipment.

1 Comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

One response to “Never Been to Spain, Never Been to Portugal. The Man

  1. Pat O'Connor

    Even more unjustly forgotten is Danny Hutton’s solo career before Three Dog Night with cool hit Roses and Rainbows

Leave a Reply

