We’re Half Way There and Livin’ On A Prayer: Bon Jovi and The Floors Are Slippery When Wet

Just turned on The Sound 100.3 and Kansas’ “Carry On Wayward Son” had just started up.  Appropriate in so many ways… I love this song and have since I first heard it in the movie Heroes with Henry Winkler and Sally Field.

It’s not the album for today, but still… Timing is key.

Very sad, hitting-home news out of New Jersey this morning.  Makes me not even want to do this, and the accomplishment of it seem very miniscule.  Then again, life is about moving on and doing whatever it is you can to make a difference.  I don’t know if this is it, but right now it’s what I have to offer and what I’m doing.  We are all waiting for that light to shine.  We need it as a guide, to lead the way… we need it as a beacon of hope… we need it for warmth and protection.  The key is to seek it out and do whatever we can to find it; and when we do, we must share it with others.  Life can be dark, but we all have a light.  May mine shine on all of you…

“Whoa Oh, we’re half way there. Whoa oh, livin’ on a prayer

Take my hand, we’ll make it I swear.  Whoa oh, livin’ on a prayer.”

Today is album #183, which marks the half way point for Marc’s Muse: The Albums Project!!!

Streamers, balloons, applause… I hear ‘ya!  365 days in a year, divided by two equals 182.5, so I rounded up.  It reminds me that out of a high school class of 135, I graduated #14, thus NOT making the top 10%.  They would not give it to me.  What is up with that?  Maybe that is why I got rejected from Yale… TWICE.  Okay, the second time was for the Drama School and I am quite certain my audition SUCKED!

As soon as I realized I was “half way there” Bon Jovi’s song popped into my head… and once it was in my heavy metal brain, there was no turning back.  Okay, I do not really have a heavy metal brain, nor would I really call this album Heavy Metal.  This is, as iTunes properly calls it, a mix of “pop, hard rock and metal.”  The album was a HUGE commercial success, becoming the best-selling album of 1987.  Even more impressive… it beat out U2’s The Joshua Tree, Michael Jackson’s Bad and Guns N’ Roses Appetite For Destruction!!!

Bon Jovi – Slippery When Wet

Star songwriter, Desmond Child helped craft “Livin’ on a Prayer” and “You Give Love A Bad Name” with Jon, and these two signature tunes would become monster hits and Bon Jovi staples.  I like the fact that he pays homage to The Boss and his Jersey roots in some of the song’s themes, especially “Livin’ on a Prayer.”

I first heard Bon Jovi late one night in 1982 or 1983.  I totally remember lying in my bed, secretly listening to the radio and there was a program that featured new and local bands… I want to say WPLJ perhaps… and that is when I heard “Runaway.”  I knew the song and the band were going to explode.

In 1983, with the success of that song, Bon Jovi put together the band that pretty much still remains… Jon Bon Jovi, guitarist Richie Sambora, keyboardist David Bryan (who co-wrote the Broadway musical Memphis with Joe DiPietro and won two Tony’s!!!), drummer Tico Torres, and bassist Alec John Such (who is on an extended hiatus).  Most recent addition,  but non-official member, bassist Hugh McDonald actually played on “Runaway” along with keyboard legend, “Professor” Roy Bittan.

I have never seen Bon Jovi live, which surprised me a bit when I thought about it, and while I always liked them, I cannot say that I collected their records.  Aside from the aforementioned hits, the other blockbuster single and my favorite BJ tune is “Wanted Dead or Alive.”  I also quite like the ballad “Never Say Goodbye,” which I am sure I made out to at some point and just totally reminds me of time spent at the Jersey Shore looking for girls.  It is so 80s which in my book is NEVER a bad thing.  I am a child of the 80s, no if, ands or big butts.  Ahhh… I can totally hear that song and some Huey Lewis blasting from the stereo of Ron Sell’s Camaro.  GS Parkway… LBI… Good times, good times…

That’s the lesson for today… yet again… Hold onto the good… live those moments to their fullest and enjoy them to the very last drop.  Seek them out and share them.  Find your bliss.  Life will throw us curves, tragedy will rear its head… It’s up to us to deflect… Up to us to laugh… Up to us to live… Up to us to go on… We must go on.

1 Comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

One response to “We’re Half Way There and Livin’ On A Prayer: Bon Jovi and The Floors Are Slippery When Wet

Leave a Reply

