I Won’t Trade You My Tears For Fears, But I’ll Let You Sit in the Big Chair

Get to MC the Big Ten Caucus tonight at the Tournament of Roses House in Pasadena, which basically means I get to make fun of and “roast” all the Big Ten Schools, including NU.

I figured that should inform my musical selection somehow… but I am guessing most of you would not tune in for the “best of” college fight songs… so I decided to go with something that got a lot of play in my dorm room and then frat room… You know, relive my college years for the umpteenth time!

Tears for Fears – Songs From the Big Chair

Whereas The Hurting may be one of the most depressing but beautiful albums I have ever heard, this one was a little… brighter… The Hurting got me through a lot of shit… seriously… When one hears “the dreams in which I’m dying are the best I’ve ever had,” it makes your own life seem a lot better.

From Wikipedia… Yikes!  “The Hurting may be considered Tears for Fears’ only true concept album, as references to emotional distress and primal scream therapy are found in nearly every song.”

The album came out in early 1985, quickly shot up to number one… and was basically locked in my CD player… It was one of the records that defined that year for me.  80s New Wave filled my ears and was a big part of my musical life… More than almost anything and everything else, except for Bruce, when I hear those albums and artists, my brain will flood with visuals, images and memories…

I got to see Curt Smith play last year at the benefit show Venice puts on every year… He was great… and he and Roland Orzabal and Tears for Fears are back on the road and will be in LA at the Wiltern (great venue, PAIN IN THE ASS TO GET TO) on Saturday, Sept. 17th!  The wife’s birthday… Hmmm…

Their second album’s title “was derived from the 1976 television film Sybil about a woman with multiple personality disorder who only feels safe when she is sitting in her analyst’s “big chair.”

But it is brighter… isn’t it?  ISN’T IT???

The standout and hit tracks are, of course:

“Shout,” “Everybody Wants to Rule the World.” “Mother’s Talk” and “Head Over Heels,” but like their first album, I always listen to this one all the way through.

Maybe I do need some therapy… or at least a chance to sit in the big chair!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

