I Need a Fix of My Jane’s Addiction

Had a good time at Hairspray at the Bowl last night… Could have done without the woman rear-ending me as we were leaving the shuttle lot, however… But, I figure the inconvenience of having to get the car into the shop and get a rental is worth it all… Not!

So now it’s Monday… Still a little peeved… Something else to deal with that I have ZERO time for… but I guess it is what it is… The real question, at this point, is what do I want (or need) to listen to… Hmmm…

I need something hard… something edgy but still fun… I need me some Jane’s Addiction.

Two things that put them in my brain, aside from me liking the music of course…

1)  I was in Chicago last weekend and they were setting up for Lollapalooza.  Sadly I was there one week too early… Yeah, I know… my timing SUCKS.  I also missed McCartney at Wrigley by ONE NIGHT!  AAGGHH!

2)  When I first moved to LA I was invited to a Halloween party where Jane’s Addiction was the house band!  HOUSE BAND!!!  And playing on Stephen Stills‘ tennis court no less.  To make it even crazier and more, totally Hollywood… I was standing next to Sting and got to watch The Red Hot Chili Peppers walking around in nothing but socks…

Jane’s Addiction – Ritual de lo Habitual

Dave Navarro on guitar… the amazing and entrepreneurial Perry Farrell (co-founder of Lollapalooza) on vocals… This album had me at “Stop” (Track 1!)

Farrell and Eric Avery (Bass) “bonded over a mutual appreciation for Joy Division and The Velvet Underground” and the “band was dubbed “Jane’s Addiction” in honor of Farrell’s housemate Jane Bainter, who was addicted to drugs.”  Sadly, drugs would play way too big a part in the band and amongst its members.

The album came out in 1990, but “Navarro later stated he had almost no recollection of working on the album due to his addiction to heroin.”  The band had its first break up in 1991…

I remember watching their videos on MTV and never quite knowing where to put them… there was no “indie rock” or “alternative” labels back then… At least not that I recall… and they were a mix of so much… rock, punk, metal and a whole bunch of other things… Whatever it was, the music was alive and hard and fast.

Jane’s Addiction and Nirvana defined the 90s… and yes, a generation.  This album certainly surprised my 80s rock sensibilities, but it opened me up to a lot of other things.  Today, over 20 years later, I will still reach for it… proof positive that I am hooked on my Jane’s Addiction and every once in a while just need my fix.


Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

