I Prefer a Good Gel, But On Occasion I Do Like Hairspray

Since we’re off to the Hollywood Bowl soon, to see a live staged version of Hairspray, I guess discussing the music seems right.  Decisions, decisions, decisions… do I discuss the Original Broadway Cast or the movie soundtrack?  I liked the movie a lot, but I saw the original cast in New York and then most of the original cast out here in LA at the Pantages

I’m going with Broadway.  Sorry John!

Hairspray – Original Cast Recording

This is all Wikipedia…

“Hairspray is a musical with music by Marc Shaiman, lyrics by Scott Wittman and Shaiman and a book by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan, based on the 1988 John Waters film Hairspray. The songs include 1960s-style dance music and “downtown” rhythm and blues. In 1962 Baltimore, Maryland, plump teenager Tracy Turnblad’s dream is to dance on The Corny Collins Show, a local TV dance program based on the real-life Buddy Deane Show.  When Tracy wins a role on the show, she becomes a celebrity overnight. She then launches a campaign to integrate the show. Hairspray is a social commentary on the injustices of parts of American society in the 1960s.

The musical’s original Broadway production opened on August 15, 2002 and won eight Tony Awards out of thirteen nominations. It ran for over 2,500 performances and closed on January 4, 2009… It was adapted for a 2007 musical film.”

Okay, yes I am in a bit of a rush… crazy day… and so perhaps I am being a bit lazy in letting Wikipedia fill in a lot of holes for me… Sue me.

The show is extremely enjoyable, as is the movie.  My 11-year-old has loved it for a long time… although the chance to see Nick Jonas and Corbin Bleu live is equally exciting for her.  Not that we’ll see them, see them… We are fairly far back… But we will have binoculars and the big screens of the Bowl.  Sadly, they closed the dress rehearsals, which used to be open to the public… like the time I “walked in” on James Taylor… Oops.  That would have been cool.

In the meantime, I am expecting a fun night… Despite the chaos that I witnessed in a You Tube video of one of the rehearsals…

I mean come on… most nights at the Bowl are pretty fun… and often spectacular.  So I’m letting down my hair, popping the can of spray and will let you know!

Good evening, Baltimore!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

