I’m Often Wrong, But Write About Love – So Ring the Belle and Sebastian

So Kings of Leon, who I just wrote about a few weeks ago has cancelled their US Tour… Vocal and exhaustion issues with Caleb Followill are the published reasons, but it sounds like something else is amiss.

Jared Followill tweeted… Sorry I hate to say that, but it is how many folks communicate… Especially music, film and TV stars and athletes…

“There are internal sicknesses & problems that have needed to be addressed. I know you guys aren’t stupid. I can’t lie. There are problems in our band bigger than not drinking enough Gatorade.”

Work it out, boys… and fix what needs to be fixed.  We’ll wait.

What is funny to me is how I was saying I liked the song “Sex on Fire” but then read something in an old Rolling Stone where Jim James the frontman for My Morning Jacket said his band won’t write things like that to sell records… Ouch.  Sorry, Jim.

Belle and Sebastian – Belle and Sebatian Write About Love

Ever since I wandered into Amoeba Records with my daughter one random day, and saw these guys doing a live show, I was hooked.  I had heard them before and liked what I heard, but this show kind of pushed them over the top for me.

Tigermilk, The Boy With the Arab Strap and The Life Pursuit were my three go to choices, and regular listens, but I am trying to push more recent selections and this album is great.  Plus, it is what popped up on my iPod, so there.

The band was formed in Glasgow in 1996, which automatically launches them to the top of my list, as I love all things Scottish.  If you are a regular reader you know HOW MUCH I want to get back to Edinburgh!  So yes, I do love all things Scottish, but I actually listened to the band first before rewarding them with that distinction.

Founding member Stuart David left the band in 2000 to pursue a solo career (Looper) and writing books, and original band member Isobel Campbell left abruptly in the middle of the 2002 tour… but the rest of the band with a few new additions, remains intact.

The duet with Norah Jones on “Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John” is delicious and Carey Mulligan sounds great on “Write About Love.”  This song especially has such a delightful 60s vibe.  But that is what this band is about.

The band draws comparisons to The SmithsLove, Felt (who I now need to explore) and Nick Drake… which explains why I like them so much.  Founding member Stuart Murdoch just knows how to mix The BeatlesBeach Boys and 60s Pop with modern folk/rock.  The blend is a trippy pleasure cruise.

The band is much larger now and vocal duties are shared, expanding their sound and reach, but still playing within that wonderful comfort zone.

According to All Music Guide they “have created their own precious world out of the remnants of ‘60s pop culture, filtering it through the aesthetics of the ‘80s underground, maintaining a style and sensibility through shifting fashions.

I hope they keep writing about love… or anything for that matter… for a long time to come!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

