Nothing is Wrong with Dawes – My Long Lost Cousins

Ah, to have been in California in the ’60s and ’70s… The sea and surf and an incredible music scene… And that Laurel Canyon Sound… Perhaps another sub-genre within the world of Folk Rock, or perhaps just the way of describing that laid back, California music made famous by artists who lived up, hung out or played in the Laurel Canyon area or just in LA during that time.  Most often we associate it with The Mamas & The Papas, Jackson Browne, Joni Mitchell, The Eagles and Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young.  I still do not understand all the vehement side-taking in regards to the Eagles… Why are they so divisive???  I like them, so there… A lot!!!  Second band I ever saw live… I know they are sadly dysfunctional in terms of getting along, but they make great music… and I once had an amazing 1/2 hour conversation with Don Henley!

Anyway, this is some of the music I was raised on… Well, my folks never played it, but I found it at a pretty young age.

My long, lost cousins, Taylor and Griffin Goldsmith… (Not really, I am just saying that because it sounds cool) have rediscovered this sound and most definitely make it their own on two amazingly, beautiful records… 2009’s North Hills and 2011’s…

Dawes – Nothing is Wrong

The band also includes Wylie Gelber and Tay StrathairnAlex Casnoff is listed as a past member, which confuses me, especially since iTunes makes a point of calling out his piano as the “secret weapon, bringing an intimacy to everything he touches.”  Okay, how is this for a young band?  Robbie Robertson has used them as his backing band… Jackson Browne sings back up and Benmont Tench (founding member of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, et. al.) plays organ on the great “Fire Away.”

Huge references to those artists… and of course Neil Young on the amazing second track “If I Needed Someone.”

Both of their albums are thoroughly enjoyable and will sit in your stereo or car or iPod for a long time… and get a lot of play…

I did not get the iTunes version, so I got hosed out of the two bonus tracks, but I am okay with that!  There is plenty of great Dawes music without them… Yeah, that’s how I’ll justify not being able to get them now… Yeah!!!

Anyway… don’t miss these guys!  They are my cousins after all… Okay, they are not but maybe… somewhere in the family tree…

MG

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

