Mid Morning Confessional – The Allman Brothers Live

Quick lesson for today.  When the heavy, cast iron top of a heavy, cast iron teapot is falling to the ground, you must somehow disconnect your instinct to stop it with your foot and just let it freely hit the ground.  I am not a soccer player.  The pain on the top of my foot was blinding and the resulting bump and bruise is still incredibly painful.  Thank you.

And now back to your regularly scheduled program…

I have a confession.  I am not gonna beat around the bush, even if we were talking about W.  I have never seen The Allman Brothers live.  I am literally ashamed as I write this.  Seriously.  I have had opportunity, but something has always come up that took me out of a ticket.  And I have always said, “Ah, no worries… next time… next time.”

For a true lover of music AND a true lover of this band, this is a crime.  I am seriously pissed at myself right now.

I would have been way too young to have seen Duane Allman, who died tragically in a motorcycle accident in 1971.  Same with Berry Oakley, who the band lost almost a year to the day, also in a motorcycle accident.  Lots of death in the last few blogs… What’s up with that?

I could have seen the great Dickey Betts, but he is no longer playing with the band… Stupid, stupid, stupid…

I promise… the next time they are here… I will be there.  Their current line up is still amazing and features two artists I have spoken about right here… the incomparable guitar virtuoso, Derek Trucks and the equally amazing Warren Haynes (also of Gov’t Mule)… Wait a second, I can’t use “incomparable” and “equally” in the same sentence… Ah well, hopefully you know what I mean.  They are both great in their own, different styles.

In the meantime, I can celebrate with the 15 live shows on Wolfgang’s Vault, and of course this one…

The Allman Brothers – Live at Fillmore East

This is easily one of the most famous and best-known live recordings of all time.  The musicianship is astounding and you will quickly realize they just don’t build them like this anymore.  It was recorded over two nights, March 12 and 13, 1971, and was produced by Tom Dowd.  I highly suggest watching the beautiful documentary, Tom Dowd and The Language of Music.  The man revolutionized recording and musical engineering and his story and relationships and true place in music history make for a fascinating, vital and absolutely must-see viewing!

I cannot even fathom how he mixed this one, somehow combining different versions of songs into one and remixing for 4-channel quadraphonic sound.  I really wish I had a surround system to fully appreciate, hear and enjoy this version.  The 1998 version of the CD has the 4.0 Surround Sound DTS!!!  That might have to go on the upgrade list… Mine are the two discs from 1992, officially called The Fillmore Concerts.

In the booklet Tom Dowd says, “You can hear Gregg and Duane locking, you can hear Duane and Dickey locking, you can hear little percussion parts tucked away.  You can hear all this stuff that I didn’t know existed.”

Dowd’s absolute and pure love for music and musical discovery are parts of what made him such a true genius.  See the movie!!!

Every single song is great, but I will give a special shout out to my favorite song and easily on the all-time, desert island list… “Whipping Post.”  If ever there was a more honest view of life, I don’t know… Sad to say, but also, sometimes, not always, reality.

“Sometimes I feel… Sometimes I feel…

Like I’ve been tied to the whipping post.

Tied to the whipping post.

Tied to the whipping post.

Good Lord, I feel like I’m dying.”

Now me and my foot are off to ice!  I’ll try to skip the post today!

1 Comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, One Thumb - My Movie Reviews

One response to “Mid Morning Confessional – The Allman Brothers Live

  1. Robert Dolan

    Totally agree with you. FILLMORE EAST is, without doubt, one of the all-time great live albums. I did get to see the Allman Brothers live, but, sadly, without Duane Allman (I’m not that old). Good for you for mentioning producer Tom Dowd, Obviously, without him, there would be no FILLMORE EAST. “Statesboro Blues,” “Trouble No More,” is rock but with a jazz foundation, particularly when you listen to the beat thrown down by Butch Trucks and Jai Johnny Johanson. Nothing like dual drummers. These guys know how to boogie. I know that Dowd once described Duane Allman and Dickey Betts playing as “frightening.” But we mustn’t forget the power of Gregg Allman’s Hammond B3 and his voice. He picks up where Betts and Allman leave off. Of course, 14 days after FILLMORE came out, Duane was gone. But the genius of this bands’ musicianship cannot be stilled.

Leave a Reply

